Eastern Health Library Service: _Eastern Health Library Service_: Clinical Microbiology, Epidemiology &amp; Infectious Diseases

Books

Click the relevant book cover or topic heading below to browse print and ebooks on specific topics.

For individual titles related to COVID-19, please refer to the box on the right.

If you are outside the Eastern Health network and would like to access eBooks, please login to Citrix first and then access this page.

Clinical Genomics

Clinical Microbiology

Clinical Laboratory Methods

Medical Epidemiology

Infectious Diseases

Antimicrobial Resistance / Use of Antibiotics

Tropical Diseases

Standards and Clinical Guidelines

For Living Guidelines for managing COVID-19, please refers to our COVID-19 Resources Guide.

PPE standard in Eastern Health and How to wear a Face Mask
/ Eastern Health
Use of surgical masks at Eastern Health
/ Eastern Health

Australasian Society for Infectious Diseases / Australia and New Zealand Paediatric Infectious Diseases Group (ASID/ANZPID) guidelines
/ ASID
more...less...
provide Post-exposure prophylaxis (PEP) after non-occupational exposure to blood-borne viruses in children - Sept 2016
Systematic review and guidelines for antibiotic duration and timing of the switch from intravenous to oral route for bacterial infections in children now published in The Lancet Infectious Diseases (open access) - 17 June 2016
Consensus guidelines for the investigation and management of encephalitis in adults and children in Australia and New Zealand (IMJ June 2015)
Management of perinatal infections
Management of invasive fungal infections in neonates and children
Australian guidelines for SARS-CoV-2 infection prevention
/ The National COVID-19 Clinical Evidence Taskforce
more...less...
The clinical guidelines are integral to ensuring that healthcare decisions are based on the best available evidence. With the support of the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC), the National COVID-19 Clinical Evidence Taskforce was commissioned to develop (in partnership with the Infection Control Expert Group (ICEG) which advises the Australian Health Protection Principal Committee (AHPPC) and a range of national professional societies and organisations) living recommendations to guide decision-making in the prevention of SARS-COV-2 infection in healthcare workers.
Australian Guidelines for the Prevention and Control of Infection in Healthcare
/ Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
more...less...
The Australian Guidelines for the Prevention and Control of Infection in Healthcare (AICGs) was jointly developed by the Commission and the NHMRC. The Guidelines, together with Commission guidance for specific organisms, provide healthcare workers and health service organisations with support to develop tailored protocols and processes for infection prevention and control at the local level.
Australian Guidelines for the Prevention and Control of Infection in Healthcare (2019)
/ National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)
Communicable Diseases Network Australia Series of National Guidelines (SoNGs)
/ Department of Health and Aged Care
more...less...
This collection contains all of the Communicable Diseases Network Australia (CDNA) Series of National Guidelines (SoNGs). These guidelines give nationally consistent advice and guidance to Public Health Units to help them respond to notifiable diseases using best practice.
Guidelines & Guidance Library
/ Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Guidelines for infection prevention and control
/ Australian Health Practitioners Regulation Agency and National Boards
Guidelines on core components of infection prevention and control programmes at the national and acute health care facility level
/ WHO
Infection, Prevention and Control
/ National Disability Services
Infection control guidelines page
/ Health.vic, Victorian Department of Health
more...less...
Guidelines on how to control the spread of infectious diseases including gastro, arbo virus, respiratory illness, scabies and vancomycin resistant enterococci (VRE). Advice on how to manage exposure to blood and body fluids and other infectious substances including protocols for cleaning up spills and waste disposal.

Surveillance data on CPE in Victoria are available through interactive infectious disease reports.
Infection prevention and control guidelines
/ The Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP)
Infection prevention and control guidelines for general practices and other office-based and community-based practices
The National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards > Preventing and Controlling Infections Standard
/ Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
Therapeutic Guidelines for prescribing antibiotics
/ Therapeutic Guidelines

Podcasts

Microbe Talk

/ Microbiology Society, UK

This week in Virology

/ American Society for Microbiology

Conversation Lancet Infectious Diseases podcast

In Conversation with ...

/ The Lancet Infectious Diseases

Infectious IDeas Podcast Series

/ National Foundation for Infectious Diseases (NFID)

ECDC: On Air

/ European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC)

A - Z Infection diseases fact sheets
/ Better Health Channel
Infection prevention and control
/ WHO
This campaign seeks to educate health workers and patients on the importance of effective hand washing, the need for which has become more acute with the COVID-19 pandemic.
National Foundation for Infectious Diseases (NFID) Webinars
NFID hosts monthly webinars to increase awareness of the importance of infectious disease prevention and treatment. Topics include vaccines recommended by the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP), antibiotic resistance and stewardship, best practices and communication skills, and complementary tools and resources. Many NFID webinars offer accredited continuing education (CME), enabling participants to earn credits and gain practical knowledge and skills.
Infection prevention and control - eLearning
/ VICNISS Healthcare Associated Infection Surveillance Coordinating Centre
Infection prevention control and healthcare-associated infections publications and resources
/ Australian Commission Safety and Quality in Health Care
Infectious diseases
/ Health.vic, Victorian Department of Health
The page includes links about public health priorities, diseases information and management, disease notification procedures and guidelines.
The Public Health Laboratory Network (PHLN) publications
/ Department of Health and Aged Care
more...less...
The Public Health Laboratory Network members produce guidelines and advice to help pathologists and medical laboratory scientists fulfil their public health microbiology responsibilities.

Antibiotic resistance
/ WHO
Includes key facts and global concerns regarding antibiotic resistance.
Antimicrobial resistance
/ WHO
Includes key facts and global concerns regarding antimicrobial resistance.
Antimicrobial resistance research
/ HUDSON Institute of Medical Research
Antimicrobial stewardship (AMS) resource
/ Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission, Australian Government
This page provides antimicrobial stewardship (AMS) resources for aged care clinicians (nurses, personal care attendants, general practitioners).
Antimicrobial Stewardship in Australian Health Care (the AMS Book)
/ Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
Initially published in 2018, continues to be updated and enhanced with additional evidence, information, and topic areas to inform antimicrobial stewardship (AMS) strategies, interventions, and implementation across a range of healthcare settings.
National Centre for Antimicrobial Stewardship
Publications and resources related to Antimicrobial resistance, use and stewardship
/ Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
Research publications on antimicrobial resistance
/ The OUTBREAK team
The OUTBREAK team is made up of uniquely skilled researchers from a range of disciplines and organisations. For details, visit: https://outbreakproject.com.au/about-us-outbreak-history/our-team-tackling-antimicrobial-resistance/

The Disease Daily
The Disease Daily is created by a team of medical doctors, veterinarians, and public health professionals who believe that infectious disease news should be accessible and comprehensible to everyone. As a publication from HealthMap, The Disease Daily has access to real-time reporting of infectious disease events all over the world.
more...less...
While HealthMap alerts the community to the outbreaks, The Disease Daily puts those alerts into context, showing readers the impact of infectious disease on policy, economics, and community.
Global Influenza Surveillance and Response System (GISRS)
/ WHO
more...less...
Global influenza surveillance has been conducted through WHO's Global Influenza Surveillance and Response System (GISRS) since 1952.
GISRS is a system fostering global confidence and trust for over half a century, through effective collaboration and sharing of viruses, data and benefits based on Member States’ commitment to a global public health model.
The mission of GISRS is to protect people from the threat of influenza by continuously functioning as a:
global mechanism of surveillance, preparedness and response for seasonal, pandemic and zoonotic influenza;
global platform for monitoring influenza epidemiology and disease; and
global alert for novel influenza viruses and other respiratory pathogens.
Healthmap
/ managed by The Disease Daily
An interactive map alerts the community to outbreaks. The Disease Daily puts those alerts into context, showing readers the impact of infectious disease on policy, economics, and community.
Infectious diseases surveillance in Victoria
/ Department of Health, The Victorian Government
Malaria Atlas Project Data
/ Map
Map is an international research collaboration that tracks the global fight against malaria.
WHO Disease Outbreak News (DONs)
provides information on confirmed acute public health events or potential events of concern.

Websites

For COVID-19 information and global surveillance, please refers to COVID-19 Resource Guide.

Databases

If you are outside the Eastern Health network and would like to access databases, please login to Citrix first and then access this page

Virology / Genus / Infectious diseases databases

The Database for Annotation, Visualization and Integrated Discovery (DAVID))
/ Laboratory of Human Retrovirology and Immunoinformatics (LHRI)
more...less...
provides a comprehensive set of functional annotation tools for investigators to understand the biological meaning behind large lists of genes.
The Database of Bat-associated Viruses (DBatVir)
A database which can provide a convenient and powerful platform for virologists and zoologists to analyze the virome diversity of bats, as well as for epidemiologists and public health researchers to monitor and track current and future bat-related infectious diseases.
Diseases and conditions
/ National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, US
A portal to look up information about allergic, immunologic and infectious diseases.
ENCODE (Encyclopedia of DNA Elements)
An international collaboration of research groups funded by the National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI), US. The goal of ENCODE is to build a comprehensive parts list of functional elements in the human genome, including elements that act at the protein and RNA levels, and regulatory elements that control cells and circumstances in which a gene is active.
Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomes (KEGG)
KEGG is a database resource for understanding high-level functions and utilities of the biological system, such as the cell, the organism and the ecosystem, from molecular-level information, especially large-scale molecular datasets generated by genome sequencing and other high-throughput experimental technologies.
PapillomaVirus Episteme (PaVE)
/ National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
The PapillomaVirus Episteme (PaVE) has been established to provide highly organized and curated papillomavirus genomics information and tools to the scientific community. The PaVE consists of a database and web applications that support the storage, annotation, analysis, and exchange.
SITVIT2 Genotyping Database
a publicly available database for studying Mycobacterium tuberculosis, its genetic diversity and molecular epidemiology. Data is contributed by a large number of countries across the globe.
STRING
/ Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics
STRING is a database of known and predicted protein interactions. The interactions include direct (physical) and indirect (functional) associations.
The Virulence Factor Database
The virulence factor database is dedicated to providing up-to-date knowledge of virulence factors (VFs) of various bacterial pathogens.

Systematic reviews repositories

Cochrane Infectious Disease
contains systematic reviews and protocols of reviews on the topic of infectious disease.

Research databases

AMH Aged Care Companion This link opens in a new window
The AMH Aged Care Companion aims to assist health care workers to ensure that older people gain the optimum benefit from their medication and avoid unnecessary suffering caused by inappropriate medication use. It contains information on the management of more than 70 conditions common in the aged, with an emphasis on issues relevant to older people using medicines. Importantly, topics offer non-drug treatment advice to help address the polypharmacy confronting those with multiple co-morbidities. Many of the topics direct the reader to additional resources, useful tools and standards of care.
Click “Additional Info” for information on mobile access.
AMH can be made available through a mobile-friendly web app (will require logging into Clinician's Health Channel first). See full instructions for mobile access here.
AMH Australian Medicines Handbook This link opens in a new window
AMH is quick and easy to use, with chapters arranged according to organ system and therapeutic use, and a user-friendly index - look up disease, drug class, generic or brand name of medicine. Substantial cross referencing assists navigation.
Click “Additional Info” for information on mobile access.
AMH can be made available through a mobile-friendly web app (will require logging into Clinician's Health Channel first). See full instructions for mobile access here.
AMH Children's Dosing Companion This link opens in a new window
The AMH Children’s Dosing Companion is used to complement the AMH where a complete review of a drug’s contraindications, precautions, adverse effects and drug interactions can be found. Generic drug names are used to arrange drug monographs. A brief introduction may offer general advice on the drug that applies to the dosing information that follows. Dosing is specified by indication, with doses usually expressed for specific age ranges or, occasionally, by weight.
Click “Additional Info” for information on mobile access.
AMH can be made available through a mobile-friendly web app (will require logging into Clinician's Health Channel first). See full instructions for mobile access here.

The Australian Immunisation Handbook
/ recommendations are developed by the Australian Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation (ATAGI) and approved by the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)
more...less...
The Australian Immunisation Handbook provides clinical advice for health professionals on the safest and most effective use of vaccines in their practice.

_Eastern Health Library Service_: Clinical Microbiology, Epidemiology & Infectious Diseases