Eastern Health Library Service: _Eastern Health Library Service_: Haematology &amp; Oncology

QUICK LINKS

Journals
Databases
Books
Standards / Clinical Guidelines
Learning Resources

Quick References: Continued Professional Development / The Paediatric Integrated Cancer Service (PICS), Victorian Government | Online Pathology Handbook | Order of Blood Tube Collection | eviQ Education

Journals

Click on the 'Explore journals' button below to browse our subscribed journals:

If you are outside the Eastern Health network and would like to access journal articles, please login to Citrix first and then access this page.

Explore Haematology journals with BrowZine

Browse journals of Haematology

BrowZine is a browsable newsstand of the library’s top journals. Easily discover, read, and monitor the key journals in your field.

Databases

If you are outside the Eastern Health network and would like to access databases, please login to Citrix first and then access this page.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is a comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full-text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. It contains full-text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo.
Ovid Embase This link opens in a new window
The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) produced by Elsevier, is a biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
Ovid Medline This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
Ovid Emcare This link opens in a new window
Ovid Emcare is a nursing and allied health database for practice, research, or education. It uncovers evidence-based literature and the latest scientific advancements that support patient treatment in a wide variety of healthcare settings.
PubMed @ Eastern Health This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version of PubMed is linked to the Eastern Health Library Service collection to facilitate access to full-text.

ANZCHOG Children’s Cancer Clinical Trials Repository
/ Australian & New Zealand Childrens Haematology/Oncology Group (ANZCHOG)
Australian Cancer Trials portal
/ Cancer Australia, Australian Government
Cancer Resources portal for Cancer Care Researchers
/ National Cancer Institute, National Institute of Health, US Government

Main biological databases for haematology research

BloodSpot
BloodSpot provides gene expression profiles of healthy and malignant hematopoiesis in human or mice.
CODEX
CODEX provides access to processed and curated NGS experiments, including ChIP-Seq (transcription factors and histones), RNA-Seq, DNase-Seq and ATAC-Seq.
European LeukemiaNet
220 Participating Centers in 44 Countries with more than 1000 researchers and clinicians are cooperating in the European LeukemiaNet. The objective is to integrate the about 120 leading leukemia trial groups (CML, AML, ALL, CLL, MDS, MPN), their interdisciplinary partner groups (diagnostics, treatment research, registry, guidelines), industry and SMEs across Europe to form a network promoting cooperative research for curing leukemia.

Pathology Tests Explained (formally Lab Tests Online AU) This link opens in a new window
Pathology Tests Explained (formally Lab Tests Online AU) has been developed for Australians by the Australasian Association of Clinical Biochemists (AACB) with support from the Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia (RCPA) and other peak national pathology bodies. Copyright is held by the American Association for Clinical Chemistry, which originated the award-winning Lab Tests Online in the United States.
Pathology Tests Explained (formally Lab Tests Online AU) is independent of, and receives no funding from, any commercial organisation including diagnostic or pharmaceutical companies. It has been funded under the Quality Use of Pathology Program of the Commonwealth Department of Health and Ageing. Lab Tests Online is a public resource on clinical lab testing from the professionals who do the testing. The site is accredited by and complies with the international standards of the Health On the Net (HON) foundation. It is part of an international network of similar websites.

Books

Browse print and ebooks on specific topics below. Click the relevant book cover or topic heading. Or you can search our book catalogue on the right.

If you are outside the Eastern Health network and would like to access eBooks, please login to Citrix first and then access this page.

Explore Haematological Oncology journals with BrowZine

Browse journals of
Haematological Oncology

Explore Oncology Nursing journals with BrowZine

Browse journals of
Oncology Nursing

UpToDate
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource that assists clinicians with point-of-care decisions. UpToDate covers 25 medical specialties with over 11,800 topic reviews, each of which covers multiple clinical questions. Additionally, UpToDate includes graphics, patient education, clinical calculators, and a drug database.

UpToDate registration - step-by-step guide

Getting Registered

To register, complete all fields on the registration page and then click Submit Registration.

Please note that you must register from within the Eastern Health network to gain access to the mobile app and accrue CME credits.

Upon completion of the registration process you will receive a confirmation email from UpToDate with instructions on downloading the mobile app.

Access UpToDate Anywhere

In addition to the mobile app, following registration you can access UpToDate from any computer with internet access.

Simply go to www.uptodate.com and click the "Log In" button located in the top right corner of the UpToDate home page. Then enter your Username and Password.

Maintaining Access

To maintain uninterrupted access to UpToDate Anywhere you must re-verify your affiliation with Eastern Health once every 90 days.

To re-verify, log in to UpToDate from a computer connected to the Eastern Health network.

Once registered with UpToDate you can install the mobile app on up to two devices by following the instructions below:

On your smartphone or tablet, search for "UpToDate" in your app store and install the free app
Open the UpToDate Mobile App upon completion of download
Log in with your UpToDate User Name and Password. You only need to do this once - the app remembers your User Name and Password.

BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
A point of care tool from BMJ Evidence Centre designed to support clinicians in their decision making from diagnosis to treatment.

access BMJ Best Practice anywhere
download the BMJ Best Practice app
automatically track your time spent on BMJ Best Practice to get CME points and certificates

To register, complete the fields on the BMJ Best Practice registration page.

To download the BMJ Best Practice app to your mobile device:

access your Apple or Google Play store and search for "BMJ Best Practice"
select the app and when prompted, use your BMJ Best Practice 'personal account' details to sign in and download the content.

Access to MIMS Online
Mobile App

MIMS Online
(including Drug Alerts and 'SHPA Don’t Rush To Crush')

Remote access via Citrix or log in to Clinicians Health Channel

MIMS Mobile
See below for registration and download instructions:

Registration and download instructions:

1. Search and download iMIMS from the App Store or MIMS for Android from the GooglePlay. (NB. the application is 430MB so it will not be possible to download it over 3G/4G network.)
2.Registered with Clinicians Health Channel (https://weblink.hcn.com.au/ks_entity.aspx?stage=&customer=36265) within Eastern Health Network
3. Go to http://vichealth.mims.com.au.acs.hcn.com.au/ValidationRequest.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2f%3facc%3d36265&acc=36265 (link only works within Eastern Health network) to select your preferred mobile version, iMIMS or MIMS for Android, and you will be redirected to the MIMS request form.
4. Enter your CHC email address and click Proceed. This will register you for MIMS and you will be sent a Token Number.
5. Open the app and login with your registered email and password.
6. Use the Token Number to finalise the login.
7. Accept terms and conditions.
Please note, due to the large file size when downloading the first time, download time may be slow.

Erythron Database
The Erythron Database is a resource dedicated to facilitating better understanding of the cellular and molecular underpinnings of mammalian erythropoiesis. The resource is built upon a searchable database of gene expression in murine primitive and definitive erythroid cells at progressive stages of maturation. ErythronDB allows users to identify sets of genes that are differentially expressed or exhibit similar levels or patterns of mRNA expression during erythrocyte development. Searches are also available for exploring networks of gene-interactions inferred from annotated expression data.
Red Cell Membrane Disorder Mutations Database
An US-based database containing confirmed mutations to inherited disorders of the erythrocyte membrane associated with hemolytic anemia including Hereditary Spherocytosis (HS), Hereditary Elliptocytosis (HE), and Hereditary Pyropoikilocytosis (HPP)
more...less...
/ National Human Genome Research Institute

Clinical Haematology

Erythrocyte Disorders

Blood Transfusion

Platelet & Bleeding Disorders

Multiple Myeloma

Oncology books in Oxford Medicine eBook Collection

Paediatric Oncology

Cancer Imaging

G enetics and Cancers

Radiation Oncology

Neoplasia

Cancer Pain Management

Immunotherapy

Chemotherapy

Surgical Oncology

Leukaemia

Haematology & Oncology Nursing

Gynecologic Oncology

Grastroenterological Malignancies

Head and Neck Cancer

Breast Cancer

Lung Cancers and other Thoracic malignancies

Cancer Survivorship

Hospice and Palliative Care in Cancer

Standards & Guidelines

Cancer guidelines
/ Australian Clinical Practice Guidelines Portal, National Health and Medical Research Council, Australian Government
Clinical Practice Guidelines
/ Cancer Council Australia
Guidelines by Cancer Type
/ Cancer Australia, Australian Government
COVID-19 Vaccination Guidance for children 12 years and older undergoing cancer treatment and children with non-cancerous blood disorders
/ Australian & New Zealand Childrens Haematology/Oncology Group (ANZCHOG)
Intertek Inform Standards (formally SAI Global)
Intertek Inform allows you to search across Australian and International Standards by their Standard number or titles. It provides access to subscribed Standards and for other Standards, registered users can also purchase them via Intertek Inform.

NICE Guidelines (UK) This link opens in a new window
NICE guidelines make evidence-based recommendations on a wide range of topics, from preventing and managing specific conditions, to providing social care to adults and children, and planning broader services and interventions to improve the health of communities.

Access to Therapeutic Guidelines
Mobile App

Therapeutic Guidelines This link opens in a new window
Therapeutic Guidelines are written principally for prescribes to provide them with clear, practical, succinct and up-to-date therapeutic information for a range of diseases. Therapeutic Guidelines includes all the topics from all books in the Therapeutic Guidelines series, as well as other topics not available in books, such as the Fatigue Guidelines. Patient information sheets, references, links and calculators contained in Therapeutic Guidelines are not included in the books.

remote access via Citrix or login to Clinicians Health Channel

Therapeutic Guidelines - access instructions for Eastern Health
Eastern Health staff can use this document to access and install the Therapeutic Guidelines app on your mobile device.

Learning Resources

Learning Podcasts


The Hematologist Podcast	The Journal of Clinical Oncology Podcast	Blood & Cancer Podcast	JAMA Oncology Author Interviews	The Oncology Podcast	eviQ Education, Cancer Institute NSW Podcast

MedPix This link opens in a new window
MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images.

Websites

Australian Cancer Atlas
A statistical and visual database for finding out patterns of cancer burden across Australia.
Australian Cancer Statistics
/ Australian Cancer Research Foundation (ACRF)
Cancer Data in Australia
/ Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, Australian Government
The Cancer Imaging Archive (TCIA)
/ National Cancer Institute
Data usage policies and restrictions: https://wiki.cancerimagingarchive.net/display/Public/Data+Usage+Policies+and+Restrictions
more...less...
The Cancer Imaging Archive (TCIA) is a service which de-identifies and hosts a large publicly available archive of medical images of cancer. TCIA is funded by the Cancer Imaging Program (CIP), a part of the United States National Cancer Institute (NCI), and is managed by the Frederick National Laboratory for Cancer Research (FNLCR).

The imaging data are organized as “collections” defined by a common disease (e.g. lung cancer), image modality or type (MRI, CT, digital histopathology, etc) or research focus. DICOM is the primary file format used by TCIA for radiology imaging. An emphasis is made to provide supporting data related to the images such as patient outcomes, treatment details, genomics and expert analyses.
National Cancer Control Indicators
/ Cancer Australia, Australian Government
more...less...
An Interactive Cancer Data Portal
Victorian Cancer Registry (VCR) Annual Statistics & Trend Reports
/ Cancer Council Victoria
Victorian Cancer Registry Data explorer
/ Cancer Council Victoria
Worldwide Cancer Data
/ World Cancer Research Fund International

Big Picture of Cancer Care Services in Victoria
/ health.vic,Victorian Government
Optimal Care Pathway for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people
/ Cancer Council
more...less...
This optimal care pathway complements the best practice information provided in the cancer-specific pathways to facilitate the delivery of culturally safe and competent care for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. It outlines the aspects of the cancer care pathway that need to be responsive to the needs of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people with cancer. It is also available as a quick reference guide.
The Victorian paediatric oncology care pathways: Providing optimal care for children and adolescents
/ The Victorian Integrated Cancer Services, supported by the Victorian Government

Cancer and COVID-19 webinars
/ Victorian Covid-19 Cancer Network powered by Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre (VCCC) and Monash Patners Comprehensive Cancer Consortium (MPCCC)
Chemotherapy Audit Toolkit
/ Victorian Therapeutics Advisory Group (VicTAG)
CPD Webinars
/ Cancer Nurse Society of Australia
Haematology Society News - webinars / latest research / education (CPD) program etc.
/ Haematology Society of Australia and New Zealand (HSANZ)
Health Professional Resources
/ Cancer Council, Australia
Professional development and learning in cancer care
/ Cancer Australia, Australian Government
Radiation Oncology Nursing Knowledge and Skills (RONKAS) Framework and eviQ Education modules on Radiation Oncology
/ eviQ Education, Cancer Institute NSW
Rapid Learning
/ eviQ Education, Cancer Institute NSW
Research in action: All the latest research news and breakthroughs
/ Leukaemia Foundation, Australia
Victorian Cancer Survivorship Community of Practice for Health Professionals
/ Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Victoria Australia

Contact Us

+61 3 9895 3200

Submit your enquiry / feedback (EHLS@easternhealth.org.au)

Suggest a purchase

workplace logo Eastern Health Library Service

8.30 am - 5.00 pm Monday - Friday (Closed weekends and public holidays)

aboriginal flag torres strait islander flag

Eastern Health Library Service acknowledges the Traditional Owners of the land on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders past, present and emerging.

Eastern Health Library strives to be an inclusive hospital library service.