 |
QUICK LINKS
|
Quick Links: COVID Information: Staff Hub | COVID Information: Workplace | COVID Frontline Health Workers Support / COVID-19 Frontline Health Workers Study
What's News:
On 26 November 2021, WHO designated the variant B.1.1.529 a variant of concern, named Omicron, on the advice of WHO’s Technical Advisory Group on Virus Evolution (TAG-VE). This decision was based on the evidence presented to the TAG-VE that Omicron has several mutations that may have an impact on how it behaves, for example, on how easily it spreads or the severity of illness it causes. Here is a summary of what is currently known.
WHO, in collaboration with partners, expert networks, national authorities, institutions and researchers have been monitoring and assessing the evolution of SARS-CoV-2 since January 2020. During late 2020, the emergence of variants that posed an increased risk to global public health prompted the characterisation of specific Variants of Interest (VOIs) and Variants of Concern (VOCs), in order to prioritise global monitoring and research, and ultimately to inform the ongoing response to the COVID-19 pandemic.
provides the latest data of genomic epidemiology of novel coronavirus-Ns3-focused subsampling and information on Genomic Surveillance for SARS-CoV-2 Variants. Actively updated and maintained by The Centers of Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Here you will find the latest situation updates and data regarding the COVID-19 outbreak from the World Health Organization.
The Center for Systems Science and Engineering at Johns Hopkins University developed an online dashboard to visualize and track the reported cases on a daily timescale. They also made the complete set of data downloadable as a Google Sheet. The map shows new cases, confirmed deaths and recoveries. Information on U.S. cases is taken from the U.S. CDC, and all other country case data is taken from the corresponding regional health departments. The dashboard is intended to provide the public with an understanding of the outbreak situation as it unfolds, using transparent data sources.
Your Local Epidemiologist / Dr. Katelyn Jetelina
"The purpose of this page is to "close the communication loop" by providing a direct line of science to you. My post are 100% data-driven and backed by the most recent scientific evidence. Some of these are my own analyses, some of these are based on other brilliant scientists peer reviewed studies, and some are science-driven resources" (Dr. Katelyn jetelina, the creator of Your Local Epidemiologist 2021)
Cochrane Library - Coronavirus (COVID-19): remote care through telehealth
Cochrane Library - Coronavirus (COVID-19): support for wellbeing in the healthcare workforce
Cochrane Library - Coronavirus (COVID-19): evidence relevant to clinical rehabilitation
The Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine: Evidence Service to support the COVID-19 response / University of Oxford
Vaccine Effectiveness
COVID‐19 Vaccine Efficacy and the Evidence on Boosters: draft / Bernard Black, David Thaw. IPR Working Paper Series (WP-21-57). Northwestern Institute for Policy Research, 20 December 2021.
LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. It is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to the rapidly growing number of research articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access.
WHO is gathering the latest scientific findings and knowledge on coronavirus disease (COVID-19) and compiling it in a database. The database is updated daily from searches of bibliographic databases, hand searches of the table of contents of relevant journals, and the addition of other relevant scientific articles that come to our attention. The entries in the database may not be exhaustive and new research will be added regularly.
Outbreak Science Rapid PREreview is a web application for open, rapid reviews of outbreak related preprints. This site is best viewed using Chrome.
This page contains links to epidemiological reports, published in Communicable Diseases Intelligence (CDI), Department of Health, Australia
Login required.
Information and guidance about the current outbreak of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) from the Department of Health and Human Services (Victoria).
Updates on the Eastern Health staff news internet page.
Coronavirus information for staff from the Eastern Health Infection Prevention and Control Service (IPAC) - access only available for devices connected to the EH network.
All COVID-19 related updates from Ahpra and the National Boards can be found here.
provides ‘living’ guidelines, updated with new research in near real-time in order to give reliable, up-to-the minute advice to clinicians.
This searches PubMed for articles relating to the use of telehealth in relation to COVID-19. Search prepared by Barwon Health Library.
CoRiCal: Covid Risk Calculator / Immunisation Coalition
- calculating the chance of death if contracting with COVID-19 - an evidence-based online calculator will help GPs discuss COVID vaccination with ‘hardcore vaccine hesitant’ patients.(Reference: Anastasia Tsirtsakis (2021). Online tool helps assess risks from COVID-19 and vaccination. news GP, The Royal Australian College of General Practitioners.)
CPR practice regarding COVID 19 / The Australian Resuscitation Council
Note for those using Internet Explorer.
This search is best run using Chrome or Firefox. Attempting to run this search in Internet Explorer may return an error message "Internet Explorer has modified this page to help prevent cross-site scripting". If this occurs and you do not have access to an alternative browser, please open PubMed using the link below and paste the search string, given below, directly into the search box.
((“telemedicine”[mh] OR “telemedicine”[tw] OR “telehealth”[tw] OR “mhealth”[tw] OR “ehealth”[tw] OR “telepractice”[tw] OR “telecare”[tw] OR “e health”[tw] OR “m health”[tw] OR “mobile health”[tw] OR “telerehabilitation”[mh] OR “teleconsult*”[tw] OR “econsult*”[tw])) AND (((wuhan[tw] AND (coronavirus[tw] OR corona virus[tw])) OR Coronavirus*[ti] OR COVID*[tw] OR nCov[tw] OR 2019 ncov[tw] OR novel coronavirus[tw] OR novel corona virus[tw] OR covid-19[tw] OR SARS-COV-2[tw] OR Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus 2[tw] OR coronavirus disease 2019[tw] OR corona virus disease 2019[tw] OR new coronavirus[tw] OR new corona virus[tw] OR new coronaviruses[tw] OR novel coronaviruses[tw] OR "Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus 2"[nm] OR 2019 ncov[tw] OR nCov 2019[tw] OR SARS Coronavirus 2[tw]) AND (2019/12[dp]:2020[dp]))
The publishers listed below are making access to all resources related to Covid-19 freely available.
BMJ offers all BMJ coverage of the coronavirus outbreak and all articles and resources are freely available. BMJ provides latest coverage, videos, clinical reviews, opinion, the editorials, and features.
Elsevier provides expert, curated information for the research and health community on Novel Coronavirus. Under the Clinical information tab you will find resources for nurses, clinicians and patients, including FAQs on symptoms and an upcoming CDC webinar on what clinicians need to know to prepare for COVID-19 in the United States.
The JAMA Network COVID-19 collection offers a range of videos, features and related clinical information articles.
This resource brings together new 2019 novel coronavirus disease (COVID-19) content from across The Lancet journals as it is published. All content listed on this page is free to access.
A collection of journal articles on the Coronavirus (Covid-19) of the Medical Journal of Australia.
Heavily mutated Omicron variant puts scientists on alert / Nature 600, 21 (2021)
Oxford University Press has made content from online resources and leading journals freely accessible to assist researchers, medical professionals, policy makers, and others who are working to address this potential health crisis.
This Collection of articles highlights all content published across the PLOS journals relating to the COVID-19 pandemic in 2019-21. PLOS is committed to disseminating research as quickly as possible, particularly in public health emergencies. All articles published in any PLOS journal are Open Access free of charge to all readers.
Springer Nature provides related research articles from its journals, as well as additional commentary on this topic and relevant books. All content listed is free to access.
All coronavirus peer-reviewed research published in Taylor & Francis journals is now free to access and available for anyone to read.
In addition to the articles on this site related to the current outbreak, Wiley is also making a collection of journal articles and book chapters on coronavirus research freely available to the global scientific community.
Wolters Kluwer - Society guideline links: COVID-19 – General guidelines for infection control via UpToDate
includes international guidelines and country-based guidelines from Europe, UK, Japan, India, Australia, New Zealand, Canada and US.
PubMed search (this search will retrieve records in PubMed on the Omicron variant)
On Twitter, #Omicron finds more recent information (select carefully), #B11529 finds older.
Report 49 - Growth, population distribution and immune escape of Omicron in England - WHO Collaborating Centre for Infectious Disease Modelling, MRC Centre for Global Infectious Disease Analysis, Jameel Institute, Imperial College London - 16 December 2021
(News summary: Omicron largely evades immunity from past infection or two vaccine doses - Imperial College, London - 17 December 2021)
COVID-19 severity prediction based on patient risk factors and number of vaccines received - MedRxiv- 3 January 2022
The hyper-transmissible SARS-CoV-2 Omicron variant exhibits significant antigenic change, vaccine escape and a switch in cell entry mechanism - MedRxiv- 3 January 2022
Vaccines Elicit Highly Cross-Reactive Cellular Immunity to the SARS-CoV-2 Omicron Variant - MedRxiv- 3 January 2022
SIR model for assessing the impact of the advent of Omicron and mitigating measures on infection pressure and hospitalization needs - MedRxiv- 3 January 2022
Comparison of outcomes from COVID infection in pediatric and adult patients before and after the emergence of Omicron - MedRxiv- 2 January 2022
Early estimates of SARS-CoV-2 Omicron variant severity based on a matched cohort study, Ontario, Canada - MedRxiv- 2 January 2022
Effectiveness of COVID-19 vaccines against Omicron or Delta infection - MedRxiv- 1 January 2022
Omicron infection enhances neutralizing immunity against the Delta variant - MedRxiv- 27 December 2021
High Rate of Asymptomatic Carriage Associated with Variant Strain Omicron - MedRxiv- 27 December 2021
Reduced infectivity but increased immune escape of the new SARS-CoV-2 variant of concern Omicron - bioRxiv - 27 December 2021
Saliva swabs are the preferred sample for Omicron detection - MedRxiv- 24 December 2021
Neutralization against Omicron SARS-CoV-2 from previous non-Omicron infection - bioRxiv - 22 December 2021
Neutralization and Stability of SARS-CoV-2 Omicron Variant - bioRxiv - 20 December 2021
Booster of mRNA-1273 Strengthens SARS-CoV-2 Omicron Neutralization - MedRxiv - 20 December 2021
Analysis: A meta-analysis of Early Results to predict Vaccine efficacy against Omicron - MedRxiv - 14 December 2021
Third BNT162b2 vaccination neutralization of SARS-CoV-2 Omicron infection - MedRxiv - 14 December 2021
Neutralization of SARS-CoV-2 Omicron variant by sera from BNT162b2 or Coronavac vaccine recipients - MedRxiv - 14 December 2021
Assessing impact of Omicron on SARS-CoV-2 dynamics and public health burden - MedRxiv - 14 December 2021
Improved neutralization of the SARS-CoV-2 Omicron variant after Pfizer-BioNTech BNT162b2 COVID-19 vaccine boosting - bioRxiv - 13 December 2021
Effectiveness of COVID-19 vaccines against the Omicron (B.1.1.529) variant of concern - KnowledgeHub - 10 December 2021
Omicron strain spreads with the doubling time of 3.2-3.6 days in South Africa province of Gauteng that achieved herd immunity to Delta variant - MedRxiv - 9 December 2021
What Omicron does, and How It Does It - arXiv - 8 December 2021
SARS-CoV-2 Omicron has extensive but incomplete escape of Pfizer BNT162b2 elicited neutralization and requires ACE2 for infection - medRxiv - 9 December 2021 (Summary) (RACGP news article - 8 December 2021 - First Omicron studies hint at enhanced role for boosters)
Insights on the mutational landscape of the SARS-CoV-2 Omicron variant - bioRxiv - 8 December 2021
Increased risk of SARS-CoV-2 reinfection associated with emergence of the Omicron variant in South Africa - medRxiv - 2 December 2021
Omicron (B.1.1.529): Infectivity, vaccine breakthrough, and antibody resistance - arXiv - 1 December 2021
Emergence of new SARS-CoV-2 Variant of Concern Omicron (B.1.1.529) - highlights Africa's research capabilities, but exposes major knowledge gaps, inequities of vaccine distribution, inadequacies in global COVID-19 response and control efforts - International Journal of Infectious Diseases - January 2022
Relative Instantaneous Reproduction Number of Omicron SARS-CoV-2 variant with respect to the Delta variant in Denmark - Journal of Medical Virology - 30 December 2021
Omicron (B.1.1.529) Variant: Development, Dissemination, and Dominance - Journal of Medical Virology - 29 December 2021
Omicron (B.1.1.529 variant of SARS-CoV-2); an emerging threat: current global scenario - Journal of Medical Virology - 29 December 2021
Can a combination of vaccination and face mask wearing contain the COVID-19 pandemic? - Journal of Medical Virology - 28 December 2021
How severe are Omicron infections? - Nature - 17 December 2021
Characterization of the novel SARS-CoV-2 Omicron (B.1.1.529) Variant of Concern and its global perspective - Journal of Medical Virology - 14 December 2021
Covid-19: Do vaccines work against omicron—and other questions answered - BMJ - 10 December 2021
Omicron likely to weaken COVID vaccine protection (news) - Nature - 8 December 2021
Beyond Omicron: what’s next for COVID’s viral evolution- Nature - 7 December 2021
Omicron SARS-CoV-2 variant: a new chapter in the COVID-19 pandemic - The Lancet - 3 December 2021
How bad is Omicron? What scientists know so far - Nature - 2 Dec 2021
WHO Global Consultation - What evidence do we have that omicron is evading immunity and what are the implications? Webinar held 15 December 2021 14:30 – 17:30 CET.
Update 70 – Update on SARS-CoV-2 variant of concern Omicron - 14 December 2021
Enhancing Readiness for Omicron (B.1.1.529): Technical Brief and Priority Actions for Member States - 10 December 2021
Update on Omicron - WHO - 28 November 2021
Classification of Omicron (B.1.1.529): SARS-CoV-2 Variant of Concern - WHO
Omicron variant - Australian Department of Health - 1 December 2021
CDC Statement on B.1.1.529 (Omicron variant) - 26 November 2021
FAQ from the National Institute for Communicable Diseases, South Africa - 26 November 2021
Most of the World’s Vaccines Likely Won’t Prevent Infection From Omicron - New York Times - December 9 2021
Opinion: Vaccination will continue to protect us, despite threat of Omicron / Peter Collignon - The Age - 15 December 2021
Omicron variant more resistant to vaccine but causes less severe covid, major South African study concludes - Washington Post - 15 December 2021
Wikipedia - SARS-CoV-2 Omicron variant
Moderna says an omicron variant vaccine could be ready in early 2022 - CNBC - 28 November 2021
COVID-19 Infection Prevention and Control: Living guideline - Mask use in community settings / World Health Organisation, 22 December 2021
|
|
© Eastern Health Library Service 2021-2023
