Eastern Health Library Service: _Eastern Health Library Service_: Surgeries, Anaesthesia and Pain Management

Journals

Databases

Books

Clinical Guidelines

Learning Resources

Websites

Contact Us

QUICK LINKS

Library

Subject Guides

Mobile-friendly mode

Contact Us

Journals
Books
Databases
Standards / Clinical Guidelines
Learning Resources

Click on the 'Explore journals' button below to browse our subscribed journals:

If you are outside the Eastern Health network and would like to access journal articles, please login to Citrix first and then access this page.

Explore Anaesthesiology and Pain Medicine journals with BrowZine

Browse journals in Anaesthesiology

Browse journals in Pain Medicine

Explore Surgical Nursing journals with BrowZine

Browse journals in

Surgical Nursing

If you are outside the Eastern Health network and would like to access databases, please login to Citrix first and then access this page.

Ovid Embase This link opens in a new window
The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) produced by Elsevier, is a biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.

Access to Medline (Ovid)
User Guide

Ovid Medline This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

OVID Advance Search - video training
This guide provides information to assist with searching via OVID platform.

BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
A point of care tool from BMJ Evidence Centre designed to support clinicians in their decision making from diagnosis to treatment.

access BMJ Best Practice anywhere
download the BMJ Best Practice app
automatically track your time spent on BMJ Best Practice to get CME points and certificates

To register, complete the fields on the BMJ Best Practice registration page.

To download the BMJ Best Practice app to your mobile device:

access your Apple or Google Play store and search for "BMJ Best Practice"
select the app and when prompted, use your BMJ Best Practice 'personal account' details to sign in and download the content.

Access to CINAHL Complete

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is a comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full-text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. It contains full-text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo.

remote access via Citrix only

Access to MIMS Online
Mobile App

MIMS Online
(including Drug Alerts and 'SHPA Don’t Rush To Crush')

Remote access via Citrix or log in to Clinicians Health Channel

MIMS Mobile
See below for registration and download instructions:

Registration and download instructions:

1. Search and download iMIMS from the App Store or MIMS for Android from the GooglePlay. (NB. the application is 430MB so it will not be possible to download it over 3G/4G network.)
2.Registered with Clinicians Health Channel (https://weblink.hcn.com.au/ks_entity.aspx?stage=&customer=36265) within Eastern Health Network
3. Go to http://vichealth.mims.com.au.acs.hcn.com.au/ValidationRequest.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2f%3facc%3d36265&acc=36265 (link only works within Eastern Health network) to select your preferred mobile version, iMIMS or MIMS for Android, and you will be redirected to the MIMS request form.
4. Enter your CHC email address and click Proceed. This will register you for MIMS and you will be sent a Token Number.
5. Open the app and login with your registered email and password.
6. Use the Token Number to finalise the login.
7. Accept terms and conditions.
Please note, due to the large file size when downloading the first time, download time may be slow.

PubMed @ Eastern Health This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version of PubMed is linked to the Eastern Health Library Service collection to facilitate access to full-text.

PubMed User Guide

PubMed® for Handhelds (app) This link opens in a new window
Available for Android and Apple iOS. Mobile site features multiple ways to search PubMed/MEDLINE: PICO (Patient, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome); askMEDLINE, a free-text, natural language search; and Consensus Abstracts. Apple iOS app includes these options as well as BabelMeSH which has search options in 13 languages.

Access to Cochrane Library
Cochrane Library Guides

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
Includes access to Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Health Technology Assessment (HTA) Database, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED).

Cochrane Library Reference Guide (Jul. 2018)

Cochrane Library User Guide (Jun. 2019)

Searching the Cochrane Library
A short video demonstrating the search features of the Cochrane Library including search display and filters.
The Cochrane Library Training Hub
This training hub aims to guide you through using the Cochrane Library by providing access to quick training
more...less...
videos, user guides and webinars.

Access to EMCARE on OVID
User Guide

Ovid Emcare This link opens in a new window
Ovid Emcare is a nursing and allied health database for practice, research, or education. It uncovers evidence-based literature and the latest scientific advancements that support patient treatment in a wide variety of healthcare settings.

remote access via Citrix or log on to Clinicians Health Channel

OVID Advance Search - video training
This guide provides information to assist with searching via OVID platform.

Browse print and ebooks on specific topics. Click the relevant book cover or topic heading.

If you are outside the Eastern Health network and would like to access eBooks, please login to Citrix first and then access this page.

Surgery
Anaesthesia


Surgery in General	Cardiothoracic Surgery	Neurosurgery	Oculofacial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery	Oral & Maxillofacial and Otolaryngologic Surgery	Oncology Surgery	Orthopeadic Surgery

Paediatric Surgery	Urological Surgery	Transplant Surgery	Abdominal Surgery	Cesarean	Trauma and Acute Care Surgery	Ophthalmology Surger

Standards of practice > Professional documents
/ Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists & Faculty of Pain Medicine (ANZCA)
more...less...
Policies are documents that formally state a principle, plan and/or course of action that is prescriptive and mandatory.

Position statements are documents that describe where the college stands on a particular issue. This may include areas that lack clarity or where opinions vary. A position statement is not definitive, prescriptive or binding.

Guidelines are documents that offer advice on a particular subject, that:

Are ideally based on best practice recommendations and information.
May be based on available evidence and/or expert consensus.
Are not prescriptive.

Guidelines developed by external organisations on aspects of the practice of anaesthesia, perioperative medicine and/or pain medicine that have been formally endorsed by the ANZCA Council are also included.

FPM policies, standards, position statements and guidelines that have been endorsed by the FPM Board are listed below.
Clinical guidance for non-urgent elective surgery
/ Safer Care Victoria

Therapeutic Guidelines This link opens in a new window
Select Pain and Analgesia on the left and then select a topics to browse the guidelines related to pain management. References section is located on the bottom of the page.
ACORN Standards for Perioperative Nursing in Australia This link opens in a new window
The ACORN standards provide a minimum standard of practice for perioperative nurses, and requirements for visitors and healthcare facilities. They are published in PDF format and can be read on any device that has a PDF reader.

Learning Podcasts


Behind The knife Podcast	Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (RACS) Post OP Podcast	Anesthesia and Analgesia Featured Article Podcast	Anesthesia and Critical Care Reviews and Commentary (ACCRAC) Podcast	Anesthesia & Pain Management (APM)Success Podcast

Browse Interactive Medical Case Studies

MedPix This link opens in a new window
MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images.

eLearning Courses and Resources
/ RACS
Opioid Calculator
/ the Faculty of Pain Medicine, Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists (FPM ANZCA) Anaesthesia | Pain management | Drug calculator
Opioids, chronic pain and the bigger picture for Health Professionals
/ NPS MedicineWise
Professional Development Hub
/ Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetics (ANZCA) Library
Pain Physiology
/ Chronic Pain Australia

Fundamentals of Anaesthesiology, Case Studies & Examination Materials

Paediatric Anaesthesia

Obstetric Anaesthesia

Neuroanaesthesia

Cardiothoracic & Vascular Anaesthesia

Regional Anaesthesia

Pain Management & Analgesia

Anaesthetic Pharmacology

+61 3 9895 3200

Submit your enquiry / feedback (EHLS@easternhealth.org.au)

Suggest a purchase

workplace logo Eastern Health Library Service

8.30 am - 5.00 pm Monday - Friday (Closed weekends and public holidays)

aboriginal flag torres strait islander flag

Eastern Health Library Service acknowledges the Traditional Owners of the land on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders past, present and emerging.

Eastern Health Library strives to be an inclusive hospital library service.