Quick Access: Medicines Safety Update / TGA | Register of Emergency and Life Saving Medicines Update / VicTAG | Australian Immunisation Handbook / Department of Health, Australian Government
Click on the 'Explore journals' button below to browse our subscribed journals:
If you are outside the Eastern Health network and would like to access journal articles, please login to Citrix first and then access this page.
|
Explore Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences journals with BrowZine |
||
|
Browse print and eBooks on specific topics. Click the relevant book cover or topic heading:
If you are outside the Eastern Health network and would like to access eBooks, please login to Citrix first and then access this page.
If you are outside the Eastern Health network and would like to access databases, please login to Citrix first and then access this page.
For Pharmaceutical Research For Drugs Lookup For Clinical Trials Lookup
To access the AIDH when offsite, you must have previously registered with the Clinicians Health Channel. Type the AIDH address (above) into your device's browser, then enter your CHC account username and password to login.
The Australian Injectable Drugs Handbook 7th edition is device responsive and can be used on most devices with an internet connection and a web browser (smartphone, tablet and desktop).
LiverTox® provides up-to-date, unbiased and easily accessed information on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, clinical patterns and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications and selected herbal and dietary supplements. The LiverTox site is meant as a resource for both physicians and patients as well as for clinical academicians and researchers who specialize in idiosyncratic drug induced hepatotoxicity.
The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate. Updated monthly.
The Clinicians Health Channel (CHC) is an online information portal funded by the Victorian state government that aims to improve quality and safety in healthcare by providing access to high quality, evidence-based resources.
The Palliative Care Formulary provides unrivalled and expert drug information for health professionals when caring for adult patients facing progressive life-limiting diseases. This trusted source goes beyond standard references providing health professionals with in-depth and practical guidance on drugs and treatment regimens to help improve quality of life.
Offsite access to Palliative Care Formulary is via the Clinicians Health Channel (CHC). You must have previously registered with the CHC. Log in using your CHC account details and select Palliative Care Formulary.
The Clinicians Health Channel (CHC) is an online information portal funded by the Victorian state government that aims to improve quality and safety in healthcare by providing access to high quality, evidence-based resources.
Offsite access to Renal Drug Database is via the Clinicians Health Channel (CHC). You must have previously registered with the CHC. Log in using your CHC account details and select Renal Drug Database.
The Women's Pregnancy and Breastfeeding Medicines Guide (PBMG) is a quick reference guide for healthcare professionals that provides practical and unbiased specialised information on medicine use in pregnancy and breastfeeding.
The Clinicians Health Channel (CHC) is an online information portal funded by the Victorian state government that aims to improve quality and safety in healthcare by providing access to high quality, evidence-based resources.
The PBMG may be viewed using any internet enabled device.
A suite of databases offering drug and toxicology oriented information. Use the main search box to search all the databases at once, search for topics like interactions, drug identification, and toxicology using the tabs or compare drugs side-by-side; search for drug interactions; and find patient information.
DRUGDEX – peer reviewed, evidence-based drug information including investigational and nonprescription drugs, designed to deliver unbiased drug information for those who prescribe, order, dispense, or administer medications
POISINDEX – ingredient information on commercial, pharmaceutical, and biological substances. Each substance is linked to one or more management documents providing information on clinical effects, range of toxicity, and treatment protocols for exposures involving the substances
TRISSELS in IV Compatibility - properties of more than 850 parenteral drugs and solutions to support safe and efficient treatment of patients.
The Clinicians Health Channel (CHC) is an online information portal funded by the Victorian state government that aims to improve quality and safety in healthcare by providing access to high quality, evidence-based resources.
The following existing Micromedex mobile apps are now available within one app:
There are also these additional features:
The Clinicians Health Channel (CHC) is an online information portal funded by the Victorian state government that aims to improve quality and safety in healthcare by providing access to high quality, evidence-based resources.
The Clinicians Health Channel (CHC) is an online information portal funded by the Victorian state government that aims to improve quality and safety in healthcare by providing access to high quality, evidence-based resources.
 |
The PubMed live searches have been developed, tested and endorsed as part of the Health Libraries for the National Standards Research Project (HeLiNS), a joint initiative of Health Libraries Australia and Health Libraries Inc. The searches have been developed and tested by health librarians and are intended as trusted searches for use by clinicians, researchers and stakeholders who want reliable and current information. Click on the topics below to link to the live searches: |
 |
||||||
|
|
|
Medication safety
|
|
|
|
|
Note: These searches are designed to run in PubMed and work best with the Chrome or Firefox browsers
AMH is quick and easy to use, with chapters arranged according to organ system and therapeutic use, and a user-friendly index - look up disease, drug class, generic or brand name of medicine. Substantial cross referencing assists navigation.
Click “Additional Info” for information on mobile access.
The AMH Aged Care Companion aims to assist health care workers to ensure that older people gain the optimum benefit from their medication and avoid unnecessary suffering caused by inappropriate medication use. It contains information on the management of more than 70 conditions common in the aged, with an emphasis on issues relevant to older people using medicines. Importantly, topics offer non-drug treatment advice to help address the polypharmacy confronting those with multiple co-morbidities. Many of the topics direct the reader to additional resources, useful tools and standards of care.
Click “Additional Info” for information on mobile access.
The AMH Children’s Dosing Companion is used to complement the AMH where a complete review of a drug’s contraindications, precautions, adverse effects and drug interactions can be found. Generic drug names are used to arrange drug monographs. A brief introduction may offer general advice on the drug that applies to the dosing information that follows. Dosing is specified by indication, with doses usually expressed for specific age ranges or, occasionally, by weight.
Click “Additional Info” for information on mobile access.
The Clinicians Health Channel (CHC) is an online information portal funded by the Victorian state government that aims to improve quality and safety in healthcare by providing access to high quality, evidence-based resources.
AMH Online can be used on desktops, laptops, tablets and smartphones with internet access with the format adjusting automatically to suit different screen sizes.
These are compact 1-page guidelines designed to detail the risk assessment and initial management of many common poisonings and envenomations.
This guideline has been adapted for statewide use with the support of the Victorian Paediatric Clinical Network
|
|
© Eastern Health Library Service 2021-2023
