Eastern Health Library Service: _Eastern Health Library Service_: Nephrology &amp; Urology

Journals

Click on the 'Explore journals' button below to browse our subscribed journals:

If you are outside the Eastern Health network and would like to access journals, please login to Citrix first and then access this page.

Explore Nephrology Journals with BrowZine

Browse journals of

Nephrology

Explore Urology Journals with BrowZine

Browse journals of

Urology

NEJM: Interactive Medical Case

Browse Interactive Medical Case Studies

Databases

If you are outside the Eastern Health network and would like to access databases, please login to Citrix first and then access this page.

AMH Aged Care Companion This link opens in a new window
The AMH Aged Care Companion aims to assist health care workers to ensure that older people gain the optimum benefit from their medication and avoid unnecessary suffering caused by inappropriate medication use.
It contains information on the management of more than 70 conditions common in the aged, with an emphasis on issues relevant to older people using medicines. Importantly, topics offer non-drug treatment advice to help address the polypharmacy confronting those with multiple co-morbidities. Many of the topics direct the reader to additional resources, useful tools and standards of care.
AMH Australian Medicines Handbook This link opens in a new window
AMH is quick and easy to use, with chapters arranged according to organ system and therapeutic use, and a user-friendly index - look up disease, drug class, generic or brand name of medicine. Substantial cross referencing assists navigation.
AMH Children's Dosing Companion This link opens in a new window
The AMH Children’s Dosing Companion is used to complement the AMH where a complete review of a drug’s contraindications, precautions, adverse effects and drug interactions can be found.
Generic drug names are used to arrange drug monographs. A brief introduction may offer general advice on the drug that applies to the dosing information that follows. Dosing is specified by indication, with doses usually expressed for specific age ranges or, occasionally, by weight.
Renal Drug Database This link opens in a new window
The Renal Drug Database comprises all monograph information from the highly successful The Renal Drug Handbook, the universally-trusted resource for pharmacists seeking definitive prescribing information when treating patients with renal impairment.

Full List of Drug Information Databases

BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
A point of care tool from BMJ Evidence Centre designed to support clinicians in their decision making from diagnosis to treatment.

BMJ Best Practice. (2019). How to use the BMJ Best Practice Comorbidities tool [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/uwpbHStoDxc

access BMJ Best Practice anywhere
download the BMJ Best Practice app
automatically track your time spent on BMJ Best Practice to get CME points and certificates

To register, complete the fields on the BMJ Best Practice registration page.

To download the BMJ Best Practice app to your mobile device:

access your Apple or Google Play store and search for "BMJ Best Practice"
select the app and when prompted, use your BMJ Best Practice 'personal account' details to sign in and download the content.

MIMS Online This link opens in a new window
(including Drug Alerts and 'SHPA Don’t Rush To Crush')

eMIMS
New version of MIMS app, released in 2024. Click on More Info for mobile access instructions.
more...less...
Access eMIMS from an EH PC. From the menu in the top right corners, click "Request Mobile Token" and fill the form. The token will be emailed to you. In the eMIMS Plus app, Login and enter your token. Tokens are valid for one year.

Clinicians Health Channel

MIMS Mobile This link opens in a new window
See below for registration and download instructions:
Registration and download instructions:

1. Search and download iMIMS from the App Store or MIMS for Android from the GooglePlay. (NB. the application is 430MB so it will not be possible to download it over 3G/4G network.)
2.Registered with Clinicians Health Channel (https://weblink.hcn.com.au/ks_entity.aspx?stage=&customer=36265) within Eastern Health Network
3. Go to http://vichealth.mims.com.au.acs.hcn.com.au/ValidationRequest.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2f%3facc%3d36265&acc=36265 (link only works within Eastern Health network) to select your preferred mobile version, iMIMS or MIMS for Android, and you will be redirected to the MIMS request form.
4. Enter your CHC email address and click Proceed. This will register you for MIMS and you will be sent a Token Number.
5. Open the app and login with your registered email and password.
6. Use the Token Number to finalise the login.
7. Accept terms and conditions.
Please note, due to the large file size when downloading the first time, download time may be slow.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource that assists clinicians with point-of-care decisions. UpToDate covers 25 medical specialties with over 11,800 topic reviews, each of which covers multiple clinical questions. Additionally, UpToDate includes graphics, patient education, clinical calculators, and a drug database.

Getting Registered

To register, complete all fields on the registration page and then click Submit Registration.

Please note that you must register from within the Eastern Health network to gain access to the mobile app and accrue CME credits.

Upon completion of the registration process you will receive a confirmation email from UpToDate with instructions on downloading the mobile app.

Access UpToDate Anywhere

In addition to the mobile app, following registration you can access UpToDate from any computer with internet access.

Simply go to www.uptodate.com and click the "Log In" button located in the top right corner of the UpToDate home page. Then enter your Username and Password.

Maintaining Access

To maintain uninterrupted access to UpToDate Anywhere you must re-verify your affiliation with Eastern Health once every 90 days.

To re-verify, log in to UpToDate from a computer connected to the Eastern Health network.

Once registered with UpToDate you can install the mobile app on up to two devices by following the instructions below:

On your smartphone or tablet, search for "UpToDate" in your app store and install the free app
Open the UpToDate Mobile App upon completion of download
Log in with your UpToDate User Name and Password. You only need to do this once - the app remembers your User Name and Password.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is a comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full-text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. It contains full-text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
Includes access to Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Health Technology Assessment (HTA) Database, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED).
Ovid Embase This link opens in a new window
The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) produced by Elsevier, is a biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
Ovid Emcare This link opens in a new window
Ovid Emcare is a nursing and allied health database for practice, research, or education. It uncovers evidence-based literature and the latest scientific advancements that support patient treatment in a wide variety of healthcare settings.
Ovid Medline This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
PubMed @ Eastern Health This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version of PubMed is linked to the Eastern Health Library Service collection to facilitate access to full-text.

Cochrane Kidney and Transplant
contains all Cochrane systematic reviews and protocols related to nephrology research
Cochrane Urology
contains all Cochrane systematic reviews and protocols related to Urology research

BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
Select Neprology or Urology under Specilties and then select a health condition. Guidelines section is located in the right side of the page.
Therapeutic Guidelines This link opens in a new window
Select Nephrology on the left and then select a topics to browse all guidelines. References section is located at the bottom of each guideline page. For guidelines related to urology, use the search bar to search urology will bring you to the search results with urology-related guideline.

CARI Guidelines
/ Caring for Australian and New Zealanders with Kidney Impairment
more...less...
contains guidelines for clinical management of patients with chronic kidney disease, including patients on dialysis and transplant recipients. There are also CARI consumer guidelines for patients and carers.
Clinical guidance for renal care
/ Safer Care Victoria
Guidelines by Category
/ American Urological Association
more...less...
including oncology, non-oncology, translated guidelines, paediatric urology, stones, incontinence, sexual and reproductive health and some individual topics related to urology
A guide to identify, manage and refer patients with chronic kidney disease
/ endorsed by The Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP); published by the Stroke Foundation
more...less...
This handbook provides guidance and clinical tips to help detect, manage, and refer patients in your practice with CKD. This guideline is endorsed by the RACGP.

Australian Situation - overview picture on Burden of chronic kidney disease, renal replacement, morbidity and mortality, hospitalisations, costs and expenditure (data range: Year 2005 - 2012) from National Strategic Action Plan for Kidney Disease p. 12
/ Department of Health, Australian Government
Chronic kidney disease - overview and feature reports
/ Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, Australian Government
more...less...
including: Chronic kidney disease: Australian facts and Geographical variation in disease: diabetes, cardiovascular and chronic kidney disease.
Kidney infections and urinary tract infections
/ Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (ACSQHC)
more...less...
Variation in kidney infection and UTI rates in the Fourth Australian Atlas of Healthcare Variation 2021

CKD – Integrating kidney health into patient care
/ NPS Medicinewise
CPD for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health professionals
/ NPS MedicineWise
CPD for general practitioners
/ NPS MedicineWise
CPD for pharmacists
/ NPS Medicinewise, Choosing Wisely Australia
Health Information > Kidney Disease
/ National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
more...less...
includes a wide range of featured topics: Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) Overview
Preventing Chronic Kidney Disease, Eating Right for Chronic Kidney Disease, Quick Reference on UACR & GFR, Kidney Failure
, Diabetic Kidney Disease, IgA Nephropathy, Polycystic Kidney Disease (PKD), Simple Kidney Cysts, Kidney Infection (Pyelonephritis), Kidney Stones and more.
Health Information > Urologic Diseases
/ National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
more...less...
including a wide range of topics: Kidney Stones, Diet for Kidney Stone Prevention, Bladder Infection (UTI) in Adults, Urinary Retention, Hematuria (Blood in the Urine), Erectile Dysfunction, Prostate Enlargement (Benign Prostatic Hyperplasia), Interstitial Cystitis (Painful Bladder Syndrome)
Health Professional Resources
/ Kidney Health Australia
Kidney Disease for Health Professionals
/ National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people
/ Kidney Health Australia
Indigenous Health Research
/ Menzies School of Health Research
more...less...
Topics of research including child health and development, smoking, alcohol, drugs and other addictive behaviours, nutrition, diabetes and kidney disease, cancer, mental health and wellbeing, youth health, sexual health, skin, primary health care and health systems research and preventative health. Citations of the Publications can be found under the topics' sections.

_Eastern Health Library Service_: Nephrology & Urology

Journals

NEJM: Interactive Medical Case

Databases

Getting Registered

Access UpToDate Anywhere

Maintaining Access

Books

Renal Medicine

Renal Nursing

Henrich's principles and practice of dialysis

Kidney Transplantation

Acute Kidney Diseases

Haemodynamics / Fluid and Electrolyte Balance

Ebsco Book Series: Renal and Urologic Disorders

Chronic Kidney Diseases

Urology

Standards & Guidelines

Learning Resources

Urology Care Foundation / powered by trusted experts of the American Urological Association

Kidney360 Podcasts

JASN Podcasts / American Society of Nephrology

BackTable Urology Podcasts / BackTable

Kidney Commute Podcasts/

Contact Us