Eastern Health Library Service: _Eastern Health Library Service_: Healthcare Management &amp; Leadership

Standards / Guidelines

Action 1.6 Clinical leadership, Clinical Governance Standard, NSQHS Standards
/ Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
Clinical Governance Standard, The (National Safety and Quality Health Service) NSQHS Standards
/ Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
more...less...
The Clinical Governance Standard aims to ensure that a clinical governance framework is implemented to ensure that patients and consumers receive safe and high-quality health care.
This standard aims to ensure that there are systems in place within health service organisations to maintain and improve the reliability, safety and quality of health care. This standard, together with the Partnering with Consumers Standard, set the overarching requirements for the effective implementation of all other standards. The Clinical Governance Standard recognises the importance of governance, leadership, culture, patient safety systems, clinical performance and the patient care environment in delivering high quality care.
Digital Health Standards and Guidelines
/ health.vic
more...less...
Digital Health Standards promote best practice guides, methodologies and principles to support enhanced interoperability of health applications across Victoria through the sharing of quality clinical information.
Full NSQHS Standards
/ Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care

Intertek Inform Standards (formally SAI Global)
Intertek Inform allows you to search across Australian and International Standards by their Standard number or titles. It provides access to subscribed Standards and for other Standards, registered users can also purchase them via Intertek Inform.

NICE Guidelines (UK) This link opens in a new window
NICE guidelines make evidence-based recommendations on a wide range of topics, from preventing and managing specific conditions, to providing social care to adults and children, and planning broader services and interventions to improve the health of communities.

Databases

If you are outside the Eastern Health network and would like to access databases, please login to Citrix first and then access this page.

Databases
Live Searches via PubMed based on NSQHS Standards

CINAHL Complete (Onsite Access) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is a comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full-text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. It contains full-text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo.
Embase (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) produced by Elsevier, is a biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
Offsite access is available by logging in to your Clinicians Health Channel account.
Medline (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
Offsite access is available by logging in to your Clinicians Health Channel account.
PsycINFO (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from periodicals in more than 25 languages.
Offsite access is available by logging in to your Clinicians Health Channel account.
PubMed @ Eastern Health This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version of PubMed is linked to the Eastern Health Library Service collection to facilitate access to full-text.

Linkedin Learning - Leadership and Management
A database of expert-led online video tutorials in fields of Leadership and Management.

The PubMed live searches, based on 7 of the NSQHS Standards, have been developed, tested and endorsed as part of the Health Libraries for the National Standards Research Project (HeLiNS), a joint initiative of Health Libraries Australia and Health Libraries Inc. The searches have been developed and tested by health librarians and are intended as trusted searches for use by clinicians, researchers and stakeholders who want reliable and current information.

Click on the topics below to link to the live searches of topical systematic review and meta-analysis from the Eastern Health customised view of PubMed, which automatically links PubMed to EHLS electronic journal collection. Click on

(on the right hand side of your screen) after you click on an article title, and it will bring you to the full-text access options.

Partnering with consumers

Health literacy

Partnering with consumers

Shared decision-making

Preventing and controlling health care associated infections

Infection prevention

Wound management

Medication safety

Medication safety

Blood management

Blood management

Communicating for safety

Clinical handover

Comprehensive care

Delirium

Falls prevention

Pressure injuries

Malnutrition

Recognising and responding to acute deterioration

Delirium

Deteriorating patient

Note: These searches are designed to run in PubMed and work best with the Chrome or Firefox browsers

Inspirations


A Leader Who Cares Series / The Journal of Healthcare Management	The Business of Healthcare Podcast / Center for Healthcare Leadership and Management, The University of Texas at Dallas	T he Pomegranate Health Podcast / The Royal Australasian College of Physicians	The HealthLeaders Podcast / HealthLeaders	The Nurse Leader Network Podcast / The Nurse Leader Network	The HBR IdeaCast and more Podcast Series / The Harvard Business Review	At The Table Podcast Series / Patrick Lencioni

National Model Clinical Governance Framework / Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care

Victorian Clinical Governance Framework / Victorian Agency for Health Information, Safer Care Victoria

Victorian Clinical Governance Framework in the context for Community Service / Department of Health and Human Services, State of Victoria

Credentialling, competency and capability (CCC) Framework / health.vic

Leadership in Allied Health / health.vic

Management Competency Assessment Program (MCAP) Management Competency Framework

Kakemam, E., Liang, Z., Janati, A., Arab-Zozani, M., Mohaghegh, B., & Gholizadeh, M. (2020). Leadership and management competencies for hospital managers: a systematic review and best-fit framework synthesis. Journal of Healthcare Leadership, 12, 59.

Global Competency Model

Hahn, C. A., & Gil Lapetra, M. (2019). Development and use of the leadership competencies for healthcare services managers assessment. Frontiers in public health, 7, 34.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Performance Framework, Reports and Data
/ National Indigenous Australians Agency (NIAA) in partnership with the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) and the Department of Health, Australia
The Australian health system
/ The Department of Health, Commonwealth of Australia
Clinical Leadership Mentoring Program
/ Victorian Agency for Health Information, Safer Care Victoria
GEN - Aged care data
/ Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
Geographic Variations in Health Care - What Do We Know and What Can Be Done to Improve Health System Performance?
/ Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
more...less...
This study documents geographic variations for high-cost and high-volume procedures in select OECD countries. It finds that there are wide variations not only across countries, but within them as well. A mix of patient preferences and physician practice styles likely play an important part in this, but what part of the observed variations reflects over-provision, or whether there are unmet needs, remain largely unexplained. This report helps policy makers better understand the issues and challenges around geographic variations in health care provision and considers the policy options.
Health Reports & Data
/ Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
Health Services Evaluation and Advisory Project Archives
/ Australian Healthcare Associates
MyHospital
/ Australian Institute of health and Welfare
more...less...
Explore MyHospitals to find information on Australia's hospital system. Read the reports and use the interactive data tools to discover information about your local hospital, hospitals within your region, state or territory and nationally.
News about Victorian Healthcare Sector
/ Victorian Healthcare Association
Resources Center - Articles in Heath Information and technology topics
/ The Healthcare Information and Management System Society (HIMSS)
Videos and Webinars on Public Health Issues
/ The Australian Prevention Partnership Centre

Webinar: Strategies for Managing Mental Health at Work / Aon Australia (from a leadership perspective)

Wanna to know more about mindfulness practice for self-care? please visit our Mindfulness Guide.

Contact Us

+61 3 9895 3200

Submit your enquiry / feedback (EHLS@easternhealth.org.au)

Suggest a purchase

8.30 am - 5.00 pm Monday - Friday (Closed weekends and public holidays)

aboriginal flag torres strait islander flag

Eastern Health Library Service acknowledges the Traditional Owners of the land on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders past, present and emerging.

Eastern Health Library strives to be an inclusive hospital library service.


Healthcare Leadership	Nursing Management & Leadership	Organisational Culture	Risk Management	Healthcare Policy	Change / Uncertainty Management

Leadership & Coaching	Healthcare Quality Management	Healthcare Excellence	Financial Management	Population Health	Strategic Planning

_Eastern Health Library Service_: Healthcare Management & Leadership

Journals

Books

Standards / Guidelines

Databases

Malnutrition

Inspirations

Contact Us