Eastern Health Library Service: _Eastern Health Library Service_: How to Find Full-Text Articles

Onsite Full Text Access

There are 3 simple ways you can access full text articles onsite:

Use the searchbar on our library homepage. The searchbar is linked to the EBSCO Discovery Service platform. In the results, look for a "full text" or "PDF" option in the results. If there is none, there will be a "Request" button, which you can use to ask the library staff to try and retrieve the article for you.
Search on Google Scholar. All EH computers have integration with our library collection on Google Scholar automatically. For articles we have in our collection, you will see "Full Text @ EH Library" button. Click to gain full text.
Search on PubMed or directly on journal websites. For articles we have in our collection, you will see the LibKey Nomad button. Click to gain full text.

Offsite Full Text Access

Option 1 - MyEBSCO

MyEBSCO can be used to search for full text articles in our Eastern Health collection offsite but requires creating a MyEBSCO account first. To create this account your device must be connected to the Eastern Health network. Instructions are below:

Go to our EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS), on a computer within the Eastern Health network. Click on " MYEBSCO" which is on the top horizontal menu bar, then " Create an Account"

Step 2.

Fill out the form using your Eastern Health email address. This creates a MyEBSCO account.

Once logged in, you can use the search field inside MyEBSCO to look for articles. For articles in our collection, you will have full text links. For articles not in our collection, you will be redirected to request the article via the inbuilt request form.

Option 2 - LibKey Nomad Extension

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that provides full text links to articles contained within the library's collection. By default it is already installed on all Eastern Health PCs, but you can also access the benefits of this from home.

Step 1.

Visit this link to download the LibKey Nomad extension for your browser.

Step 2.

Vis Once downloaded and installed, you will be prompted to select your library, make sure to choose Eastern Health Library Service, and you're ready to go.

Now, when you're searching on journal websites, Google Scholar or PubMed, you will see full text link for articles that are available in our collection. For any articles you cannot see a full text link for, use our Journal Article Request Form.

Databases

To search our databases, choose your database from our databases list. It includes the major databases like Medline, Embase, Cochrane, CINAHL as well as other databases of research and health information.

EH Full Text in Google Scholar

If you are using the Eastern Health network, when searching Google Scholar you will already see , on the right hand side next to the article title, which links you to the options to full-text download page. This will appear for articles that we have access rights to.

If you are offsite:

To be able to see options appear on your screen when searching Google Scholar on a device not connected to the Eastern Health network, you need 2 things to be ready:

1. Your MyEBSCOhost account (must be created on a device connected to the Eastern Health network - instructions to create one are above) - you will be asked to log into this when clicking a Full Text @ EH Library link.

2. The correct settings of Google Scholar (these can be set when not connected to the Eastern Health network - see the instructions written below)

Step 1.

Go to the Settings page of Google Scholar.

Step 2.

Click on Library Links on the left > input "Eastern Health Library Service" in the search bar and click the search button > tick all options available below the search bar > click "Save".

Full Text Articles on Phone

Some of our full text journal collection is available on phones through the Browzine app, however this is browsed on a by-journal basis. This is most useful for when you want to follow a specific journal and read its content.

Step 1. Download the app from the App Store or Google Play store.

Step 2. When opening for the first time, choose Eastern Health Library Service and authenticate using your standard Eastern Health email and email password.

You can then browse the journals, journal issues, and then when selecting an article a full text link will be shown at the bottom of the article listing (see third image below).