Eastern Health Library Service: _Eastern Health Library Service_: Point-of-Care Resources

UpToDate

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource that assists clinicians with point-of-care decisions. UpToDate covers 25 medical specialties with over 11,800 topic reviews, each of which covers multiple clinical questions. Additionally, UpToDate includes graphics, patient education, clinical calculators, and a drug database.

Getting Registered

To register, complete all fields on the registration page and then click Submit Registration.

Please note that you must register from within the Eastern Health network to gain access to the mobile app and accrue CME credits.

Upon completion of the registration process you will receive a confirmation email from UpToDate with instructions on downloading the mobile app.

Access UpToDate Anywhere

In addition to the mobile app, following registration you can access UpToDate from any computer with internet access.

Simply go to www.uptodate.com and click the "Log In" button located in the top right corner of the UpToDate home page. Then enter your Username and Password.

Maintaining Access

To maintain uninterrupted access to UpToDate Anywhere you must re-verify your affiliation with Eastern Health once every 90 days.

To re-verify, log in to UpToDate from a computer connected to the Eastern Health network.

Once registered with UpToDate you can install the mobile app on up to two devices by following the instructions below:

On your smartphone or tablet, search for "UpToDate" in your app store and install the free app
Open the UpToDate Mobile App upon completion of download
Log in with your UpToDate User Name and Password. You only need to do this once - the app remembers your User Name and Password.

BMJ Best Practice

BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
A point of care tool from BMJ Evidence Centre designed to support clinicians in their decision making from diagnosis to treatment.

BMJ Best Practice. (2019). How to use the BMJ Best Practice Comorbidities tool [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/uwpbHStoDxc

access BMJ Best Practice anywhere
download the BMJ Best Practice app
automatically track your time spent on BMJ Best Practice to get CME points and certificates

To register, complete the fields on the BMJ Best Practice registration page.

To download the BMJ Best Practice app to your mobile device:

access your Apple or Google Play store and search for "BMJ Best Practice"
select the app and when prompted, use your BMJ Best Practice 'personal account' details to sign in and download the content.

Therapeutic Guidelines

Therapeutic Guidelines This link opens in a new window
Therapeutic Guidelines are written principally for prescribes to provide them with clear, practical, succinct and up-to-date therapeutic information for a range of diseases. Therapeutic Guidelines includes all the topics from all books in the Therapeutic Guidelines series, as well as other topics not available in books, such as the Fatigue Guidelines. Patient information sheets, references, links and calculators contained in Therapeutic Guidelines are not included in the books.

Clinicians Health Channel This link opens in a new window
The Clinicians Health Channel (CHC) is an online information portal funded by the Victorian state government that aims to improve quality and safety in healthcare by providing access to high quality, evidence-based resources.

Therapeutic Guidelines app - access instructions for Eastern Health staff
Eastern Health staff can use this document to access and install the Therapeutic Guidelines app on your mobile device.

Cochrane Clinical Answers This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Clinical Answers are evidence-based answers to clinical questions based on Cochrane Reviews and have been created to support health professionals in decision making
Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, digestible, clinically-focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane Reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform point-of-care decision-making. Each CCA contains a clinical question, a short answer, and data for the outcomes from the Cochrane Review deemed most relevant to practising healthcare professionals, our target audience. The evidence is displayed in a user-friendly tabulated format that includes narratives, data, and links to graphics. Cochrane Clinical Answers were developed by Cochrane Innovations and Wiley.

The Cochrane Library website, that includes Cochrane Clinical Answers, will resize depending on the size of the screen.

MIMS Online

MIMS Online This link opens in a new window
(including Drug Alerts and 'SHPA Don’t Rush To Crush')

eMIMS
New version of MIMS app, released in 2024. Click on More Info for mobile access instructions.
more...less...
Access eMIMS from an EH PC. From the menu in the top right corners, click "Request Mobile Token" and fill the form. The token will be emailed to you. In the eMIMS Plus app, Login and enter your token. Tokens are valid for one year.

Clinicians Health Channel

MIMS Mobile This link opens in a new window
See below for registration and download instructions:
Registration and download instructions:

1. Search and download iMIMS from the App Store or MIMS for Android from the GooglePlay. (NB. the application is 430MB so it will not be possible to download it over 3G/4G network.)
2.Registered with Clinicians Health Channel (https://weblink.hcn.com.au/ks_entity.aspx?stage=&customer=36265) within Eastern Health Network
3. Go to http://vichealth.mims.com.au.acs.hcn.com.au/ValidationRequest.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2f%3facc%3d36265&acc=36265 (link only works within Eastern Health network) to select your preferred mobile version, iMIMS or MIMS for Android, and you will be redirected to the MIMS request form.
4. Enter your CHC email address and click Proceed. This will register you for MIMS and you will be sent a Token Number.
5. Open the app and login with your registered email and password.
6. Use the Token Number to finalise the login.
7. Accept terms and conditions.
Please note, due to the large file size when downloading the first time, download time may be slow.

ACORN Standards for Perioperative Nursing In Australia

ACORN Standards for Perioperative Nursing in Australia This link opens in a new window
The ACORN standards provide a minimum standard of practice for perioperative nurses, and requirements for visitors and healthcare facilities. They are published in PDF format and can be read on any device that has a PDF reader.

To access the ACORN Standards when off-site, Eastern Health staff should log in via Citrix.

The ACORN Standards are published in PDF format and can be read on any device that has a PDF reader.

Point of Care Resources - Quick Links

Remote access to library resources via Citrix

EH Staff can access the EHLS electronic resources when offsite via Citrix*.

Step 1: Apply for a Citrix account

You or your manager can submit a request for remote access via Citrix to ICT via EH Assist (need to be onsite to access EH Assist).

Step 2: Access to our library eResources page to look for the specific eResources you after

Login to the Staff Citrix Portal > Open Remote Desktop > Copy this link: https://easternhealth.libguides.com/home and search via Chrome from your remote desktop.

Clinicians Health Channel remote access

Eastern Health staff can register for access to the Clinicians Health Channel. Registering enables staff to access CHC resources when offsite.

It is recommended that staff register onsite using an EH networked computer.

_Eastern Health Library Service_: Point-of-Care Resources

Point of Care Resources