Eastern Health Library Service: Microbiology, epidemiology & infection prevention databases: Home

BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
Select from "Specialities" > Infectious Diseases

BMJ is a point of care tool designed to support clinicians in their decision making from diagnosis to treatment.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource that assists clinicians with point-of-care decisions. UpToDate covers 25 medical specialties with over 11,800 topic reviews, each of which covers multiple clinical questions. Additionally, UpToDate includes graphics, patient education, clinical calculators, and a drug database.

AMH Aged Care Companion This link opens in a new window
Specific information and safety considerations on influenza, treatments and outbreak management in aged care:
https://agedcare.amh.net.au.acs.hcn.com.au/chapters/respiratory/influenza

Specific information and safety considerations on nursing home-acquired pneumonia treatments and outbreak management:
https://agedcare.amh.net.au.acs.hcn.com.au/chapters/respiratory/nursing-home-acquired-pneumonia?menu=vertical

Specific information and safety considerations on vaccinations protecting elderly people from coronavirus disease (COVID‑19), Influenza, pneumococcal disease, pertussis, tetanus and zoster:
https://agedcare.amh.net.au.acs.hcn.com.au/chapters/immunisation-chap/immunisation

It contains information on the management of more than 70 conditions common in the aged, with an emphasis on issues relevant to older people using medicines. Importantly, topics offer non-drug treatment advice to help address the polypharmacy confronting those with multiple co-morbidities. Many of the topics direct the reader to additional resources, useful tools and standards of care.
AMH Australian Medicines Handbook This link opens in a new window
Anti-infectives drug choice:
https://amhonline.amh.net.au.acs.hcn.com.au/chapters/anti-infectives/general-principles-anti-infectives

Specific information and safety considerations on adult vaccinations
https://amhonline.amh.net.au.acs.hcn.com.au/chapters/vaccines-chap
AMH Children's Dosing Companion This link opens in a new window
Specific information on recommended vaccinations for children:
https://childrens.amh.net.au.acs.hcn.com.au/appendices/appendix-vaccinations?menu=vertical
Generic drug names are used to arrange drug monographs. A brief introduction may offer general advice on the drug that applies to the dosing information that follows. Dosing is specified by indication, with doses usually expressed for specific age ranges or, occasionally, by weight.

The Australian Immunisation Handbook
/ recommendations are developed by the Australian Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation (ATAGI) and approved by the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)
more...less...
The Australian Immunisation Handbook provides clinical advice for health professionals on the safest and most effective use of vaccines in their practice.

Research databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is a comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full-text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. It contains full-text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
Includes access to Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Health Technology Assessment (HTA) Database, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED).
Ovid Embase This link opens in a new window
The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) produced by Elsevier, is a biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
Ovid Emcare This link opens in a new window
Ovid Emcare is a nursing and allied health database for practice, research, or education. It uncovers evidence-based literature and the latest scientific advancements that support patient treatment in a wide variety of healthcare settings.
Ovid Medline This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
PubMed @ Eastern Health This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version of PubMed is linked to the Eastern Health Library Service collection to facilitate access to full-text.

Standard 2:

Preventing and controlling health care associated infections

Click on the topics below to link to the live searches of topical systematic review and meta-analysis from the Eastern Health customised view of PubMed, which automatically links PubMed to EHLS electronic journal collection. Click on

(on the right hand side of your screen) after you click on an article title, and it will bring you to the full-text access options.

Systematic reviews repositories

Cochrane Infectious Disease
contains systematic reviews and protocols of reviews on the topic of infectious disease.

Virology / Genus / Infectious diseases databases

The Database for Annotation, Visualization and Integrated Discovery (DAVID))
/ Laboratory of Human Retrovirology and Immunoinformatics (LHRI)
more...less...
provides a comprehensive set of functional annotation tools for investigators to understand the biological meaning behind large lists of genes.
The Database of Bat-associated Viruses (DBatVir)
A database which can provide a convenient and powerful platform for virologists and zoologists to analyze the virome diversity of bats, as well as for epidemiologists and public health researchers to monitor and track current and future bat-related infectious diseases.
Diseases and conditions
/ National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, US
A portal to look up information about allergic, immunologic and infectious diseases.
ENCODE (Encyclopedia of DNA Elements)
An international collaboration of research groups funded by the National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI), US. The goal of ENCODE is to build a comprehensive parts list of functional elements in the human genome, including elements that act at the protein and RNA levels, and regulatory elements that control cells and circumstances in which a gene is active.
Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomes (KEGG)
KEGG is a database resource for understanding high-level functions and utilities of the biological system, such as the cell, the organism and the ecosystem, from molecular-level information, especially large-scale molecular datasets generated by genome sequencing and other high-throughput experimental technologies.
PapillomaVirus Episteme (PaVE)
/ National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
The PapillomaVirus Episteme (PaVE) has been established to provide highly organized and curated papillomavirus genomics information and tools to the scientific community. The PaVE consists of a database and web applications that support the storage, annotation, analysis, and exchange.
SITVIT2 Genotyping Database
a publicly available database for studying Mycobacterium tuberculosis, its genetic diversity and molecular epidemiology. Data is contributed by a large number of countries across the globe.
STRING
/ Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics
STRING is a database of known and predicted protein interactions. The interactions include direct (physical) and indirect (functional) associations.
The Virulence Factor Database
The virulence factor database is dedicated to providing up-to-date knowledge of virulence factors (VFs) of various bacterial pathogens.

Microbiology, epidemiology & infection prevention databases: Home

Databases

Contact Us