Click on the 'Explore journals' button below to browse our subscribed journals:
If you are outside the Eastern Health network and would like to access journals, please login to Citrix first and then access this page.
|
Explore neurology-related Journals |
||||||||
|
|
Explore neurology-related Journals |
||||||||
|
If you are outside the Eastern Health network and would like to access databases, please login to Citrix first and then access this page.
Point-of-care resources / quick references
The AMH Aged Care Companion aims to assist health care workers to ensure that older people gain the optimum benefit from their medication and avoid unnecessary suffering caused by inappropriate medication use. It contains information on the management of more than 70 conditions common in the aged, with an emphasis on issues relevant to older people using medicines. Importantly, topics offer non-drug treatment advice to help address the polypharmacy confronting those with multiple co-morbidities. Many of the topics direct the reader to additional resources, useful tools and standards of care.
Click “Additional Info” for information on mobile access.
AMH is quick and easy to use, with chapters arranged according to organ system and therapeutic use, and a user-friendly index - look up disease, drug class, generic or brand name of medicine. Substantial cross referencing assists navigation.
Click “Additional Info” for information on mobile access.
The AMH Children’s Dosing Companion is used to complement the AMH where a complete review of a drug’s contraindications, precautions, adverse effects and drug interactions can be found. Generic drug names are used to arrange drug monographs. A brief introduction may offer general advice on the drug that applies to the dosing information that follows. Dosing is specified by indication, with doses usually expressed for specific age ranges or, occasionally, by weight.
Click “Additional Info” for information on mobile access.
New version of MIMS app, released in 2024.
For mobile app, access eMIMS Elite from an EH PC. From the menu in the top right corners, click "Request Mobile Token" and fill the form. The token will be emailed to you. In the eMIMS Plus app, Login and enter your token. Tokens are valid for one year.
Research databases
CINAHL Complete is a comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full-text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. It contains full-text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo.
NeuroBITE (previously PsycBITE) is a database that catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI). These studies are rated for their methodological quality, evaluating various aspects of scientific rigour.
The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) produced by Elsevier, is a biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
Ovid Emcare is a nursing and allied health database for practice, research, or education. It uncovers evidence-based literature and the latest scientific advancements that support patient treatment in a wide variety of healthcare settings.
MEDLINE provides medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from periodicals in more than 25 languages.
Systematic reviews / research data repositories
Click the relevant book cover or topic heading below to browse print and ebooks by topics.
If you are outside the Eastern Health network and would like to access eBooks, please login to Citrix first and then access this page.
Includes brain and spinal cord trauma, cerebral edema, ruptured aneurysms,severe strokes, encephalitis and meningitis, refractory seizures, and complicated brain tumors.
Includes Stroke, Alzheimer's disease, Brain injuries, Dementia, Epilepsy, Seizures, Brain tumor, Migraines, Parkinson’s disease, Sleep disorders, Cerebral palsy and demyelinating disease.
Includes Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Multiple sclerosis, Muscular dystrophy, Myasthenia gravis, Myopathy, Myositis, Neuropathy and Atrophy, Dystonia, Ataxia, Tremor, Huntington's disease, Wilson's disease and restless legs syndrome.
Standards and Clinical Guidelines
Learning Podcasts
Websites
APA provides resources and professional development opportunities for physiotherapists, including those who work with patients who have experienced brain injuries.
/ brain injury Australia
This site is for people learning to work with people with ABI. It provides structured learning opportunities and resources for people to use as self-study and/or in the workplace at team meetings and forums and/or in supervision.
OTA provides resources and professional development opportunities for occupational therapists, including those who work with patients who have experienced brain injuries.
SPA provides resources and professional development opportunities for speech pathologists, including those who work with patients who have experienced brain injuries
Synapse provides a range of resources and services for people impacted by brain injuries, including training and education resources for professionals.
ARNA provides resources for rehabilitation nurses, including those working with patients who have experienced brain injuries. They offer professional development opportunities, conferences, and publications.
ASSBI provides a community of professionals interested in brain impairment by offering a range of events, workshops, and resources.
Epilepsy Action Australia provides a wide range of resources for individuals with epilepsy and healthcare professionals, including training and education resources, webinars, and workshops.
ESA promotes research and professional education in epilepsy. They conduct an annual scientific meeting that presents the latest research in epilepsy and host various educational resources.
The Epilepsy Centre provides services for people living with epilepsy and their communities across Australia, including professional training programs.
This organisation offers a variety of services, including professional development and training workshops for healthcare professionals, educators, and support workers.
The RACGP provides resources and professional development opportunities for general practitioners, including those working with patients with epilepsy.
ANZSGM provides resources for professionals working in geriatric medicine. They offer conferences, workshops, and other educational opportunities. While not solely focused on neurology, they do cover neurologic conditions common in older populations, such as dementia and stroke.
Dementia Australia offers professional development and resources for healthcare professionals working with individuals with dementia. They provide training, tools, and resources.
Neuroscience Research Australia (NeuRA):
NeuRA conducts research into neurological conditions, including those affecting the elderly. They offer seminars and a research-based blog which could be useful for professional development.
ANZAN offers resources and training for neurologists, including regular meetings and educational materials.
AAG conducts workshops, events, and has resources for professionals working in the field of gerontology.
Headache Australia is a division of the Brain Foundation and provides resources, information, and assistance to healthcare professionals and patients alike.
Neuroscience Research Australia (NeuRA)
NeuRA conducts research into a range of neurological conditions, including headaches and migraines. They also offer seminars and a research-based blog which could be useful for professional development.
The Australian Migraine Foundation conducts research into migraines and provides information about latest treatment options, making it a good resource for healthcare professionals.
APS offers resources including conferences, educational materials, and a regular journal that can provide insights into pain management, including headaches.
RACGP provides a wide range of resources and professional development opportunities, including guidelines and resources related to the diagnosis and management of headaches and migraines.
ANNA offers resources for nurses working in neurology, including those specialising in movement disorders.
Neuroscience Research Australia (NeuRA)
NeuRA conducts research into a range of neurological conditions, including movement disorders. They also offer seminars and a research-based blog which could be useful for professional development.
Parkinson's Australia provides resources for healthcare professionals working with individuals with Parkinson's disease. These include education programs, resources, and links to current research.
ANZAN is a professional association for neurologists in Australia and New Zealand. They offer resources and training, including an annual scientific meeting and other educational materials.
This organisation focuses specifically on movement disorders, and they provide a range of educational resources and opportunities including conferences and training courses.
|
|
© Eastern Health Library Service 2021-2023
