Eastern Health Library Service: Neurology Databases: Home

Databases

If you are outside the Eastern Health network and would like to access databases, please login to Citrix first and then access this page.

Point-of-care resources / quick references

BMJ Best Practice
Select from "Specialities" > Neurology / Neurosurgery

BMJ is a point of care tool designed to support clinicians in their decision making from diagnosis to treatment.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource that assists clinicians with point-of-care decisions. UpToDate covers 25 medical specialties with over 11,800 topic reviews, each of which covers multiple clinical questions. Additionally, UpToDate includes graphics, patient education, clinical calculators, and a drug database.

AMH Aged Care Companion This link opens in a new window
The AMH Aged Care Companion aims to assist health care workers to ensure that older people gain the optimum benefit from their medication and avoid unnecessary suffering caused by inappropriate medication use. It contains information on the management of more than 70 conditions common in the aged, with an emphasis on issues relevant to older people using medicines. Importantly, topics offer non-drug treatment advice to help address the polypharmacy confronting those with multiple co-morbidities. Many of the topics direct the reader to additional resources, useful tools and standards of care.
Click “Additional Info” for information on mobile access.
AMH can be made available through a mobile-friendly web app (will require logging into Clinician's Health Channel first). See full instructions for mobile access here.
AMH Australian Medicines Handbook This link opens in a new window
AMH is quick and easy to use, with chapters arranged according to organ system and therapeutic use, and a user-friendly index - look up disease, drug class, generic or brand name of medicine. Substantial cross referencing assists navigation.
Click “Additional Info” for information on mobile access.
AMH can be made available through a mobile-friendly web app (will require logging into Clinician's Health Channel first). See full instructions for mobile access here.
AMH Children's Dosing Companion This link opens in a new window
The AMH Children’s Dosing Companion is used to complement the AMH where a complete review of a drug’s contraindications, precautions, adverse effects and drug interactions can be found. Generic drug names are used to arrange drug monographs. A brief introduction may offer general advice on the drug that applies to the dosing information that follows. Dosing is specified by indication, with doses usually expressed for specific age ranges or, occasionally, by weight.
Click “Additional Info” for information on mobile access.
AMH can be made available through a mobile-friendly web app (will require logging into Clinician's Health Channel first). See full instructions for mobile access here.
eMIMS Elite This link opens in a new window
New version of MIMS app, released in 2024.
For mobile app, access eMIMS Elite from an EH PC. From the menu in the top right corners, click "Request Mobile Token" and fill the form. The token will be emailed to you. In the eMIMS Plus app, Login and enter your token. Tokens are valid for one year.

Research databases

CINAHL Complete (Onsite Access) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is a comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full-text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. It contains full-text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
Includes access to Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Health Technology Assessment (HTA) Database, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED).
NeuroBITE This link opens in a new window
NeuroBITE (previously PsycBITE) is a database that catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI). These studies are rated for their methodological quality, evaluating various aspects of scientific rigour.
The aim of NeuroBITE (previously PsyBITE) is to enable clinicians to quickly identify, evaluate and implement evidence-based interventions for psychological issues experienced by people with acquired brain impairment. Also, the database enables students and researchers of different disciplines to find articles which might be relevant to their field of study
Embase (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) produced by Elsevier, is a biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
Offsite access is available by logging in to your Clinicians Health Channel account.
Emcare (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Ovid Emcare is a nursing and allied health database for practice, research, or education. It uncovers evidence-based literature and the latest scientific advancements that support patient treatment in a wide variety of healthcare settings.
Offsite access is available by logging in to your Clinicians Health Channel account.
Medline (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
Offsite access is available by logging in to your Clinicians Health Channel account.
PsycINFO (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from periodicals in more than 25 languages.
Offsite access is available by logging in to your Clinicians Health Channel account.
PubMed @ Eastern Health This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version of PubMed is linked to the Eastern Health Library Service collection to facilitate access to full-text.

Systematic reviews / research data repositories

Brain Analysis Library of Spatial maps and Atlases (BALSA)
/ Washington University School of Medicine
BALSA is a database for hosting and sharing neuroimaging and neuroanatomical datasets for human and primate species.
Cochrane > Our evidence > Neurology
contains systematic reviews and protocols of reviews on the topic of neurology diseases / conditions.
Data repository on sequelae of neurological disorders
/ Cochrane Linked Data
contains links to systematic reviews. Users can search systematic reviews by broader and narrower terms related to the topic. Each systematic review and condition are assigned with tags to describe the reviews, such as the subject groups and interventions.
eBrains
An European-based open research infrastructure that gathers clinical brain data, tools and computing facilities for brain-related research, built with interoperability at the core.
Neurovault
A open data repository sharing statistical maps, parcellations, and atlases of the brain (MRI & PET).
Openneuro
A free and open platform for validating and sharing BIDS-compliant MRI, PET, MEG, EEG, and iEEG data

Neurology Databases: Home

Databases

Contact Us