Grey literature databases
- Alliance - As an international partner with WHO, Alliances products annual reports on health policy and system research.
- Analysis & Policy Observatory (APO) - For public policy, practice research and resources from government, agencies, universities, research institutes, not-for-profits, and think tanks in Australia, New Zealand and beyond.
- bioRxiv - Contains pre-print articles on biology
- CABI Digital Library - For research and learning in agriculture, the environment and the applied life sciences.
- Caresearch Grey Literature Database - a grey literature related to palliative care.
- Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH) Grey Matters - A free online tool for finding health-related grey literature that are not published commercially and which may be inaccessible via bibliographic databases.
- EBSCO Open Dissertation - A collection of open dissertations managed by EBSCO.
- Google Dataset Search / Google - A search engine for datasets and statistics via the Google platform
- GreyGuide Portal - A portal for searching information on grey literature in Europe.
- Healthcare Standards / Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
- Healthcare Reports / Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care - Search their Resource Library
- Health and Welfare Reports & Data / Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, Australian Government
- Key Health Statistics and Statistical Reports of Australia / Australian Bureau of Statistics
- National Grey Literature Collection / Funded by Health Education England
- medRxiv - Contains pre-print articles on health sciences.
- Open Access Theses and Dissertations / OATD.org - aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world - over 1,100 colleges, universities, and research institutions.
- PROSPERO / National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) - an International prospective register of systematic reviews, including unpublished systematic reviews.
- Guidelines International Network (GIN)
- Health Systems Evidence
- Science.gov - A portal to search for U.S. government science information, including technical reports and other grey literature
- The Patient Experience Library
- Trip database - A clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
- U.S. Health Data & Statistics / Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Further information on designing search strategies and documenting and reporting the grey literature search can be found here (Severn M, Mierzwinski-Urban M, Farrah K, Walter M, Spry C, Argáez C, 2023).
