E-books for occupational therapy: Home

This practical guide for occupational therapists introduces a tried and tested method for moving from assessment to intervention, by formulating plans and measurable goals using the influential Model of Human occupation (MOHO). Section 1 introduces the concept of formulation - where it comes from, what it involves, why it is important, and how assessment information can be guided by theoretical frameworks and organised into a flowing narrative. Section 2 provides specific instructions for constructing occupational formulations using the Model of Human Occupation. In addition, a radically new way for creating aspirational goals is introduced - based on a simple acronym - which will enable occupational therapists to measure sustained changes rather than single actions. Section 3 presents 20 example occupational formulations and goals, from a wide range of mental health, physical health and learning disability settings.

This guide for newly qualified occupational therapists provides an authoritative overview of what to expect in your role and work settings, and is full of practical guidance on how to make a good start to a successful practice. With chapters by experienced practitioners in the field, it offers insights into work in paediatrics, mental health, learning disability and the acute hospital setting. Vital information is also included on difficult aspects of practice such as legislation and data protection. It signposts sources for support and resources for furthering techniques in individual areas of work. Most importantly, the book offers tips for managing a busy workload, while building the positive relationships and resilience needed for a successful career in the occupational therapy.

The Recovery Through Activity handbook offers an occupation-centred treatment programme and intervention, rooted in occupational therapy, and underpinned by the Model of Human Occupation. This valuable resource contains comprehensive evidence regarding the value of twelve categories of activity, along with a wealth of resources to support their implementation.

Discovery Through Activity provides a compendium of ideas, resources and practice evaluations that will inspire practitioners to be even more imaginative and to customise their own Recovery Through Activity programmes to meet the specific needs of participants. The original Recovery Through Activity handbook offers a flexible programme that is widely used in adult mental health settings. This accompanying and complementary resource shows how the intervention has been extended, adapted and applied service-wide.

A person-centered, recovery-oriented, and occupation-based approach to mental health across the lifespan.

This book presents "Action Over Inertia," a recovery-orientated, strengths-based approach to address the profound disruptions in daily activities and community participation often experienced by those living with serious mental illnesses. With a focus on supported "doing", the Action Over Inertia approach engages individuals in small activity and participation efforts as an opening to making longer term and sustained changes that offer meaning and well-being. The book helps service providers develop their own knowledge of activities and the health and well-being benefits an individual might receive from activities. It also asks them to consider the biases, assumptions, and constraints that might impact their ability to implement interventions related to activity and participation. A range of worksheets, resources, vignettes, and other tools are provided to support this practice.

Guided by research and occupational therapy practices, this evidence-based text maps how occupational therapists and the allied health collective can holistically promote women's health, wellbeing, and self-efficacy during matrescence - the bio-psycho-social-political-spiritual-developmental journey and rite of passage of mother-becoming. From person-centred, gender-sensitive, and feminist perspectives, this book introduces a compassionate and non-medicalised framework guiding how health and wellbeing professionals can engage responsively with women during motherhood journeys.

Children and adults with complex trauma histories need to feel safe, be able to regulate emotions, develop relationships, and gain mastery over their environment and important occupations. Occupational therapy practitioners are valuable members of the complex trauma treatment team because of their expertise in the cognitive, social, emotional, and sensory components of occupation. This comprehensive text guides occupational therapy practitioners in applying trauma-informed care with their clients across contexts with evidence-based models of assessment and intervention.

This edited collection is the first complete guide for rehabilitation professionals seeking to engage a whole-person, biopsychosocial, and mind-body medicine integrated approach to care. Drawing on the foundations of integrative medicine, Integrative Rehabilitation Practice (IRP) goes beyond the treatment of symptoms to explore multiple levels, roots, and possible contributing factors to individual's health experience. The book covers both the theoretical foundations of IRP and applications to practice in the fields of physical therapy, occupational therapy, yoga therapy, speech and language therapy, and many other professions.