Quick References: eGFR calculator / Kidney Health Australia
If you are outside the Eastern Health network and would like to access databases, please login to Citrix first and then access this page.
Medication references / Point-of-care resources
The AMH Aged Care Companion aims to assist health care workers to ensure that older people gain the optimum benefit from their medication and avoid unnecessary suffering caused by inappropriate medication use. It contains information on the management of more than 70 conditions common in the aged, with an emphasis on issues relevant to older people using medicines. Importantly, topics offer non-drug treatment advice to help address the polypharmacy confronting those with multiple co-morbidities. Many of the topics direct the reader to additional resources, useful tools and standards of care.
Click “Additional Info” for information on mobile access.
AMH is quick and easy to use, with chapters arranged according to organ system and therapeutic use, and a user-friendly index - look up disease, drug class, generic or brand name of medicine. Substantial cross referencing assists navigation.
Click “Additional Info” for information on mobile access.
The AMH Children’s Dosing Companion is used to complement the AMH where a complete review of a drug’s contraindications, precautions, adverse effects and drug interactions can be found. Generic drug names are used to arrange drug monographs. A brief introduction may offer general advice on the drug that applies to the dosing information that follows. Dosing is specified by indication, with doses usually expressed for specific age ranges or, occasionally, by weight.
Click “Additional Info” for information on mobile access.
A point of care tool from BMJ Evidence Centre designed to support clinicians in their decision making from diagnosis to treatment.
BMJ Best Practice. (2019). How to use the BMJ Best Practice Comorbidities tool [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/uwpbHStoDxc
Register for a free BMJ Best Practice personal account to:
To register, complete the fields on the BMJ Best Practice registration page.
To download the BMJ Best Practice app to your mobile device:
Research databases
CINAHL Complete is a comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full-text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. It contains full-text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo.
The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) produced by Elsevier, is a biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
Ovid Emcare is a nursing and allied health database for practice, research, or education. It uncovers evidence-based literature and the latest scientific advancements that support patient treatment in a wide variety of healthcare settings.
MEDLINE provides medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
Systematic reviews repositories
|
|
© Eastern Health Library Service 2021-2023
